Honey Honey – testing phase

Good afternoon everyone!

I have just send out the test-requests to everyone who commented two weeks ago that they wanted to test the pattern Honey Honey. Just to refresh your memory… this is what that pattern can turn into!

This is a foundation pieced pattern (paper pieced).

- The pattern consists of one block that is made up of 4 units.

- 1 block is 10 x 10 inches.

- You need to construct 4 blocks (16 units) to create the pillow I showed above.

- The illusion of the “hexagon weave” is only visible with the minimum of 4 blocks.
One block:

4 Blocks together create the “hexagon weave” illusion:

By building more blocks you end up with something quite spectacular:

By using different background fabrics you can create this…

…or even this:

- There is a possibility to use “variation units” within a block to create the diamond shape like in the blue and green drawing (below).  This works best if you make 9 blocks (36 units)

- The pattern itself is not difficult to piece, but you can get confused with the fabrics. I have added gray to some of the pattern pieces to help prevent this.
- I believe the pattern itself is an intermediate level pattern.
- The pattern works best with a solid fabric or non-directional fabrics.

By the end of this month I hope to be able to make this pattern available for you all!

If you feel like testing this pattern too, please leave a comment. If I need more testers, I will let you know!

I wish you lots of fun in your sewing room!

Esther

P.s. I am linking up with My Quilt Infatuation’s  Fabric Thursday

Crazy mom Quilts’ Finish it Up Friday and Quiet Play’s Paper Piecing Party.

36 thoughts on “Honey Honey – testing phase

  1. Hello Esther:

    I just love this pattern and how you softened the stark contrasts in the colors; I think it is my favorite so far.
    I suddenly had a moment of “deja vue”. The pattern reminds me of a structure in Brussels .. isn’t it called the Atomium?
    Hope you get lots of volunteers.
    Annie

    • Yes it does look like the atomium a bit! Maybe the repeating lines/ structure make it so. I am so glad to have so many volunteers already!
      Thank you for leaving a comment,
      As always; lots of hugs,
      Esther

  2. Hi Esther! This is most exciting pattern! Big quilt would be fantastic but difficult – I would absolutely mix my colour plans. x Teje

    • Hello Teje,
      How nice of you visit my blog. Your blog was one of the first I started reading about a year ago! So inspiring!!!
      Ha ha, I think I would get those fabrics mixed up too! That is why I sticked to just three! :-)
      Thank you for leaving a comment,
      Esther

      • I’m so happy to hear that, Esther! Your block would make fantastic quilt by using lots of colours (perhaps prints) for the background. Too bad I don’t have time for foundation piecing now. x Teje

        • I agree with you, i think that for instance text fabrics for the background could be reaaly cool! You would have to aware that the text would be on different angles all over the quilt. Kind of chaotic, but as long as the text is not to large, I think that it would turn out fine.
          Bye bye
          Esther

  3. I would love a chance to test this pattern. I’ve always been interested in quilts with optical illusions. Bev

    • Goodmorning!
      Yes, and i hope it will appeal to a many different quilters too. It was a lot of fun coming up with the different colour combinations for this pattern.
      Bye bye
      Esther

  4. That is such a beautiful block Esther! I need to take the plunge into paper piecing. I just think of my to-do list and it always gets pushed to the back burner though.

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    • Hello Kelly!
      Thank you for visiting my blog! Paper piecing is not particularly difficult, but it has its specific “technical difficulties”, like any other techniques. Once you get the hang of it, it is a wonderful method to create intricate designs.
      Esther
      Esther

    • I can’t wait too! It will be a bit of a longer wait as they are buildling bigger blocks then normal. I hope that by the end of this month all of the results will be in.
      Thanks for dropping by! I hope your weekend will be filled with joy!
      Esther

  5. Wow! This is going to be a terrific quilt at any size. I can’t wait til it is available for all of us. It will defiinitely move to the top of my “to make” list.

  6. Pingback: Open European Quilt Championships Veldhoven – part 2 | ipatch

Leave a Reply

