Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Mini

Hello everyone!

This is the first of my two entries for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. For my regular readers it may be a very familiar quilt as I just showed you the blocks made by all of the wonderful testers in my previous blogpost.

This “mini”  is actually a pillow that I made for my brother’s birthday. I designed this foundation piecing pattern myself on the computer. I used Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop to get it “just right”. I was inspired by several things. First of all a drawing by the famous Dutch artist M.C. Escher, whom you may all know by his fabulous and imaginative perspective drawings.

In the spirit of Halloween, here is a work by M.C. Escher:
( wish I could make this, though! Would be an awesome mini, don’t you think?)

Another wonderful drawing of M.C.Escher is the direct inspiration for my pattern design. This is his drawing which I based my pattern on:

I also was inspired by all of these gorgeous Double Wedding Ring quilts that I have been seeing all over the internet. The weaving of the two lines looked like that to me.

The pattern is called “Honey Honey” after the shape of a beehive and is also a reference to calling a loved one “Honey”.

The weaving illusion is created by repeating the basic block four times.

So, here are some of my pictures for this Quilt Festival.

The very beginning, just a quilt top mini.

Stitched in the ditch…

… and some deliberation on patterns for FMQ … (I drew the designs on a piece of plastic)

I decided on pebbles as I wanted the strictness due to the mathematical lines to soften a bit.

I really loved working with these fabrics! These purples are my favorite. I just wish there was more modern purple fabric out there!

One pillow, already gifted and happily received!

*

Stats:

- Size: 20 x 20 inches

- Technique top: foundation piecing

- FMQ: small pebbles

- Top: quilting cotton

- Batting: Hobbs 80-20

- Thread: Gutermann

- Back: home decor fabric from Ikea, inserted a zipper! :-)

- Label: made by “cottentrends

*

Thank you very much for reading my blog and for those who have also entered a quilt into the Blogger Quilt festival; I wish you all lots of luck and bundles of fun!!!

Esther

12 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Mini

  1. I’ve seen the pillow taking shape, but must have missed the devil or angel mini. This is so outstanding. I pinned them both so I can remember to see them again. Gorgeous!

    • Oops, the devil picture is a piece of art by M.C.Escher ( a print I believe ) and not a mini by me. Sorry! i am not that good yet! ;-) Bye bye Esther

      Verstuurd vanaf mijn iPad

    • Hey Gina,
      Thank you for another wonderful comment! I really loved working on this pillow; the “perfect fabric for my brother”, the right pattern and “simple” pebble!
      bye bye
      Esther

    • Yes, please do! I did not find it scary at all when I got too it! Sometimes frustrating yes, when things are not working as they are supposed to do. I have been having thread problems, but I have finally solved them. Having the right tools and set up is really important!
      Esther

Leave a Reply

