Free Motion Crazy

Last night I worked on a back panel for pillows I am making for my parents. Instead of a simple (just fabric) backing I decided to go down “the special route” and come up with something crazy.

A FMQ back.

I started by deviding the panels into squares and drew some circles and ovals with a thick chalk pen.

I used items to draw around that I had lying around.

I drew in the spines of the feathers and added a triangle to indicate the end of the feather.

And started my feathers.

For the sake of these photo’s I broke thread after each part, but you really only have to do this once about half way through.

Oops, I entered into the space reserved for a small feather in the centre (horizontal)!

On the other side it went better.

Now break the thread and start with the vertical small feather on top.

Backtracking to the start and go to the left and right for some more feathers!

And done!

One down, three more to go!

( You know what?¬† I did not have any thread issues… !!! It is still a mystery!)

Esther

(p.s. I am linking up with Freshly Pieced for “WIP Wednesday” and “Can I get a Whoop Whoop?” at Confessions of a Fabric Addict “, “Finish it up Friday” at Crazy Mom Quilts and last but not least¬† “NTT” at My Quilt Infatuation)

19 thoughts on “Free Motion Crazy

  1. Hi Esther:

    What a fun project! First I thought it looked like a blossoming pumpkin, but it became something else as you went along more like a turtle with many feet (or maybe I have been reading too much about the turtles on our beaches; there are record numbers)? Just love the color of the fabric .. cannot wait to see your other pillows.
    Annie

    • I felt like it was very animallike too! All kinds of (prehistoric) insects and bugs came to mind. The colour is like a burned orange and it goes very well with the red couch my parents have in the living room.
      Hugs
      Esther

    • Thank you Susan! I find FMQ relaxing to the mind but not so on the body! I think I need to change to height of the sewing machine; lowering it into table should do it. I will have to crawl under the table to check if that is possible with this table.
      bye bye
      Esther

    • Hello Kristy!
      Thank you! I have tried some more feathers now and those are a bit better than the ones in the blogpost. I am happy with the way they all look and happy to have some practise at FMQ and feathers.
      I hope you will feel better soon Kristy!
      Esther

    • Hi Beverly,
      They will almost be! :-) The zipper will be smack bang in the middle of the pillowback, as my mother requested. I have tried to integrate the zipper in the design. I think it will look good!
      Thank you for coming over for a visit!
      Esther

  2. really nice job on the FMQing seeing the steps in your process is really helpful – makes it not so overwhelming to someone who hasn’t tried this. It’s is still quite obvious that you have crazy good FMQ skills though !

    • Hi Colleen,
      Nah ;-) , not crazy good, but I love doing it. When I started quilting (seriously) I thought that FMQ was way out of my league and when I finally took the “giant leap” it was not that bad at all! I just practise a lot, I guess!
      Thank you for leaving your wonderful reply!
      Esther

  3. Wow! I know I have said this to you before, but it’s so true- your FMQ just amazes me! It’s so gorgeous how all of those feathers just nestle together beautifully!

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  4. Pingback: From the House of Orange | ipatch

  5. Pingback: Blogaversary – 1 year! | ipatch

Leave a Reply

