Quilt-ish

Thankfully I am done with buying presents, this year it was pretty easy! I received a clear wishlist for my Secret Santa recipient and I also overheard some extra wishes that were not on that list. Plenty to choose from!

Last Friday school was out early so I drove to the city of Maastricht to get some last shopping done. There is one particular store  ( De Bijenkorf )  that has a gorgeous selection of modern interior design pieces. You know, like the stuff you see in all the cool magazines? Their displays are always something to drool over! Here are some pictures I secretly took with my phone. Don’t these items look really quilt-ish to you?

Above: “Sierkussen Graph” by PT.  Just a decorative stitch in a contrasting colour on a quality cotton.

Drool…. I want these, when I win the lotery!  “Kaleido” by Hay. Metal in bright colours. Small size was already expensive. Did not dare to look at the prize for the large platter.

I also found some Christmas decorations that I could not NOT bring home with me. This weekend  I got to work and created this in my livingroom.

(Warning! Picture overload!)

I already bought a gorgeous fleece blanket (like I do not have enough blankets / quilts in my house, ha ha!) in the same colour scheme!

I made this tablerunner out of a scarf I found in another design store called HEMA ( a bit like “Bed Bath and Beyond” but with every day items)  It is one of those gauzy polyester scarves you can wear indoors and it is a very loose weave! I carefully pinned it with regular pins to a piece of white cotton and stitched with shiny thread using my walking foot. I used the regular long pins instead of the basting pins as I did not want the scarf to get ripped by the curly bit of a basting pin. It went pretty well, except from some shifting at the border. I can live with that! :-)  I used a warm brown cotton for the binding. I do not know how this tablerunner will wash up or even how it will look after using it a few times. For now I am in love with it!

In the HEMA store I found another quilt-ish scarf! HEXIES!!!

I am undecided what to do with this scarf. It is much wider than the other one so it would make a huge tablerunner. Maybe, shockingly, use it as a scarf?

I leave you with this fun trick picture of my Christmas tree.

If you would like to create your own fabulous Christmas picture, do this:

- Set the ISO to the lowest setting.

- Put your camera on a tripod.

- Take a picture of the tree and carefully zoom out while the camera lens is open!

My picture came out very wobbly as I could not find my tripod and I used some boxes. I think I took about 20 pictures before I settled on this one. Have a look at the pictures other made with the same trick!

I will be missing from blogland for a couple of days but will be back in January! Ladies and gents, I wish you all a happy holiday and a wonderful 2014.

Lots of love!

Esther

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Quilt-ish

  1. Love the camera “trick”!!!! And the dresser ‘scarf’ is wonderful!!! The colors are so perfect….non-traditional but conveying the seasonal ‘feel’!!!! Christmas Blessings to you, Esther!!!!!! And big hugs!!!!…………………….

    • Hello Doreen!
      I hope your Christmas was wonderful! How were the New Year’s celebrations near you? Does your town put on a fire works display?
      My Christmas was kind of a dud, but everything turned out well in the end.
      This morning I toke the Christmas tree down. We have a tradition to keep the tree up till after New Year’s. Lost of people only take it down after Epiphany on the 6th of January. I think I am leaving the “dresser scarf” on display a little bt longer. It is so lovely!
      hugs,
      Esther

      • Our Christmas was quiet and very nice (although #2 son and wife were unable to be with us). New years Eve we were in bed at 10:30…..I don’t even remember the last time I/we saw midnight!!! LaCrosse, WI (population 57,000+) does a fabulous fireworks display (have watched it on TV the next day!!! LOL!). We took most of our decorations down today so it looks a bit more “normal”.
        Our weather forecast is for brutally cold temps for the next 3 days/nights. Schools are closed state-wide (statement at the state level!!!!).
        So good to visit with you in this new year!!!! Here’s to 2014!!!!! Hugs………….

  2. Hi Esther! Your decorations are fantastic and I love your idea for the mobile! I would absolutely use that gorgeus hexagon scarf! Your photo of the tree is amazing!
    Merry Christmas! x Teje

  3. Thanks for sharing your decoration ideas and the wonderful photos!
    And the link how to take a spectacular photo of the Xmas tree.
    Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014, Barboar

  4. Hi Esther, I’ve just started following you – je werk is erg mooi! I live in Australia, but I have family in the Netherlands, and I used to love shopping in Hema and De Bijenkorf – Hema always had something I couldn’t find anywhere else. I hope you had a great Christmas, and I look forward to seeing your work next year. Kate

    • Happy New Year Kate!
      Dank je wel! :-) I just heard that the HEMA stores are venturing out into England and Spain. Maybe soon they will try out Australia out too? I hope so. I do not think I could live without a HEMA close by, LOL!
      I hope you Sunday will be pleasant and peaceful!
      Esther

    • Hey Susan!
      Happy New Year to you! Is your tree still spinning round or did you take it down already? I just took mine down today and putting all of the decorations away is always so much quicker than putting them up, right?
      Lots of hugs,
      Esther

Leave a Reply

