BLOCK-aliscious #1

I started a new project…. another one….  a very cute one!

I do not know if to call this new project of mine a QAL or not… I will be patching HST blocks on a regular basis for the next couple of months. Maybe you want to quilt along with me? I will be using this schematic for the lay out of the blocks.

You have probably seen this drawing all over Pinterest. It is actually a result of computer programming that a young  man called Mark Jason Dominus did to woo his date! Great stuff! There are pictures of the quilt that his later wife (success!) made from his drawings.

I will be using the fabric I pulled for the Sew Kitschy BOM as I like the fabric so so so much!!! I will also be doing the blocks in a navy, blue and white combination. So there will be two sets of the blocks in the end.

There may be 16 blocks at the end of this project, but it is also possible that I will do all 72!

Yeah nuts, right?

I am a bit hesitant to call this project a QAL as I can not promise you that I can post regularly. For now, I am aiming for 1 or 2 blocks per week. Also, I will go randomly through the schematic looking for blocks that speak to me. Precision is really important for me in this project, so I will be using 2 inch “Thangles” to create my HST. About 2 years ago I had bought two packages and never touched them since. As I am still using the old Pfaff that does not have 1/4 inch foot, so I decided to use the Thangles to make sure that at least the HST were the right size. For the further patching I have used a stack of post-it notes in front of the sewing machine foot to act as a guideline. So far so good!

Each block is 8 inches square. I do promise to show you how I have created each block, especially focussing on the directions of the seams.

I will number the blocks according to their location in the schematic (horizontal-vertical). All of the blocks I will create will be also posted on a new page. If you decide to patch along with me, you can upload your pictures to my BLOCK-aliscious Flickr-pool.

IT WOULD BE SO MUCH FUN IF YOU DID!!!

Soooooo… here is my first randomly picked block!

BLOCK 2-6

First lay-out your  HST-squares. I have decided to go with two dark colours instead of one.

Sew two adjoining pieces together.

The red smiley stickers indicate which way the seam allowances have been pressed. On the left block = pressed to that side! And vise versa, of course!

The red sticker just indicates left or right!

Now join two sets together to create squares. Check if the seams are nesting before you start sewing. I always pin!

Seam allowances have been pressed up or down, indicated by the red stickers. The red sticker just indicates up or down.

Now create two rows. Pin the nesting seams!

The seam allowance of the top row  has been pressed to the right. The bottom one has been pressed to the left. (The red sticker indicates left or right!)

Now you only have to join these two rows and you are done! Pin all three nesting seams to make sure “your pieces match perfectly”. It does not matter which way you press the seam allowance.

DONE!

Okay, now for the same block in the sweet colours!

I tried out two variations by switching out the light and the dark.

 

I decided on the first one. Isn’t it pretty?

The next BLOCK-aliscious post will be about this block for sure!

   Block 8-4

Until then!

Esther

 

P.S. I am linking up with:

SewJo at My Go Go Life

Finish it up Friday at CrazyMomQuilts

I Quilt at PrettyBobbins

Anything goes Mondays at Bobbins and Bullets

 

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “BLOCK-aliscious #1

  1. I always love seeing the same block / pattern done in different colorways. I love the graphic black/white/blue block, but the softer green/yellow/orange just screams spring! The blocks are lovely and I look forward to seeing your progress through more! :)

    • Thank you very much. I have already started making more… additive they are for sure! I don’t know yet which blocks I like best now: both the blue-white blocks and the spring-colours blocks speak to me…. so I am doing them both!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  2. Hmmm….you have peaked my interest. An idea is forming and I too have lots of fabric left over from my sew kitschy project. Dare I start yet another project this week?

    • Hello Cynthia!
      Yes, yes yes, of course you may start a new project! :-) This is not work, just play! We can do whatever we like!!! Love to see your block!
      Esther

    • Hello Jen,
      Yeah, I know what you mean! Time is very tight here too! I have been making more blocks this week so whenever I do not have time in the next month I can still put a blog post up. Next week the final exams for the senior student start and it will get really busy then! Almost no-quilting time for the next couple of weeks. :-( I hope to be able to squeeze in an hour or two each week… if I am very lucky!
      Have a wonderful day!
      Esther

    • That boat fabric is very cute! It is by Dear Stella, I guess from an older collection as I got in for a sale price. I also have a star fabric from the same line. You will see it in the other blocks in the future!
      Thank you for commenting!
      Esther

  3. Looks like a fun project. Are you HST’S each 2 inches? I just did the Layer Cake Sampler Quilt along, and it was a lot of fun.

    • Hello Cindy!
      Yes, the HST are 2 inches when finished, so you start with units of 2,5 inches square! I am using the ” 2.0″ Thangles” and they create units of 2,5 inches square. I am happy with the precision they are giving me.
      Bye bye
      Esther

    • I sure hope so… I do not want to get bored half way a project. t may happen, it may not! That is why I am making two versions of each block. I can always use one set of blocks for a smaller project if I feel like it, and save the other set for something bigger.
      Thank you for stopping by!
      Etsher

  4. I really like the variety HSTs offer. Have fun with your project! It is interesting to see it in two colorways.

    • Thank you very much Vera,
      So far I am loving them! I can not make my mind up which of the colour ways I like best. I adore the soft colours, but the strong contrast in the other block is also fabulous…
      Still do not know…. I may never! Anyway, I will end up with two sets of gorgeous blocks!
      Esther

    • Hello Sherry!
      Wow! I would love it if you would!!!
      Keep up? I do not know if I can keep up with myself, ha ha! :-) My plan may be a bit ambitious. I have already made a head start and finished about four sets. So whenever it gets very busy at work, I can still show you a set without putting the hours in.
      Bye bye
      Esther

  5. What a great idea! I love your fabric choices in both colorways. I shared a link to a tutorial on my blog post today about how to make 8 half-square triangles at one time. There are no bias edges to stretch, and it works great!

    I look forward to following along.

    • Hello Amanda!
      I have looked at the tutorial with the Easy Angle Ruler. Looks very interesting. I have a triangle ruler with 60 degree angles but not on for 45 degrees. My rectangular rulers do have a line for 45 degrees.
      I have tried a different technique for creating HST before. You start with two squares, right sides facing. Then you sew around the square with a 1/4″ foot. Then you cut it diagonally twice, if I remember correctly. You end up with 4 HST. I liked this technique very much, but I did not starch my fabric enough before I started and everything got a bit wonky. I do not feel like trimming every HST so that is why I am using the Thangles. So far so good!
      Have a wonderful week!
      Esther

    • Hi Gina,
      I have the same problem deciding which one I prefer! That is exactly why I am doing them both! It always amazes me how different a block looks by just changing the fabrics!
      Have a great day!
      Esther

  6. Half square triangles are so great ! So many options. Have you tried a piece of masking tape on your machine to mark the 1/4?

    • Hi Carla,
      Thanks for the tip! It is kind of what I am doing: The little stack of post-its is stuck firmly in its place with tape. I guess that tape by itself would also be enough, but I like that I can butt the fabric up to the stack op post-its.
      Hugs
      Esther

  7. Hi Esther! Thank you for your invitation – great idea and I love to join! I think this is just what I need at the moment – something ‘simple’ to concentrate – doesn’t take too much time – short enjoyable moments. Lets start! x Teje

  8. … sorry Esther, but are your squares (2 half squares sewn together) 2 1/2″? to end up with 8″ block. Thanks! x Teje

    • Hi Teje,
      Yes the squares are 2,5 inches before you create the block. The thangles I use are named ” 2 inch ” but they create 2,5 inches squares. They become 2 inches when you patch them together. I hope this helps you!
      Hugs,
      Esther

  9. i have thought for so long that the diagram would make a fabulous quilt.. didn’t know the story of it , and that the quilt had been made… I wonder if i could fit in one more project.. hmmmm. Certainly will be interested to follow, i love the dark version best.

  10. I just love the first one (white, black, blue). It is very graphic and I saw: A WINDMILL!
    Don’t work too hard at school .. some “me” time is always a good idea.

Leave a Reply

