Blogger’s Quilt Festival – entree 1

This is my first entree in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival Spring 2014. ( If I can get it to link up! )

This little quilt measures about 30 x 30 inches and was backed with a soft blue flannel. Because of the size I am entering it into the SMALL  QUILTS category.

The locomotive is a paper piecing pattern I enlarged by 250 %.

I worked on it on April and March of this year, and it was gifted to a  fellow teacher who became a grandfather this Spring.

Around the locomotive I quilted my version of the McTavish FMQ pattern.

( Thank you Amy for all of your fantastic videos and instructions in your Free Motion Mondays. I thoroughly enjoyed learning how to McTavish! )

The body of the locomotive was left unquilted, except for the blue areas. You can see the “pebbles” and “flames” a bit better from the back.

The quilt went to a very cute little boy who uses it every single day!

YAY!

There are lots of beautiful quilts on show in the Festival this year. You can vote for your favorite ones!

Lots of fun gazing all the gorgeous quilts!

Esther

 

7 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – entree 1

  1. I love this quilt, and it could have gone in other categories as well. Like the home machine quilted and original design. I am glad you entered it.

Leave a Reply

