FMQ and thrift

Warning this is a PHOTO BOMB! πŸ˜‰

SOOOO, I have a new addiction! FMQ is so much fun!!! My grandmothers sewing machine can be turned into a FMQ-monster with a few adjustments. Two days ago I grabbed my flexibel teflon cookie sheet (yes, cookie sheet!) and the painters tape and set up the sewing table.

These are my second batch of tests in FMQ. The fabric is actually blue and not gray as in these photo’s. That’s artificial lighting for you! 😦

A few weeks ago I homed my skills of paper piecing with a pattern I found online. I made four stars that would be turned into charity quilts or something like that. I have been waiting for more vintage fabric finds to enlarge the blocks into quilt tops. This week I decided that one top was large enough and that I wanted to back it with fleece that I found at IKEA. And I let my new found skill of FMQ loose on this quilttop. Here are some progress pictures.

Inside the star/flower: echo quilting

Around the star: pebbling

Radiating lines from the star points : echo quilting

And than some Leah Day patterns in the dark blue border!

I am linking up with Freshly Pieced

And yesterday a friend and I went to a thrift shop in the neighbourhood (Luckily we have many thrift stores and second hand shops around!). We found many pieces of beautiful fabric (pillow cases and such) and also some other bits and bobs. I will show the fabric later this week. There are some real gems in that pile!

But… I can show you the bits and bobs now! πŸ˜‰

White ’50’s sugar bowl (?), fluorescent green glass from a store in Rotterdam (little sticker on it says so) from the ’30’s, and some more Fire King chili bowls. ( Like I do not have enough of those πŸ˜‰ )

Dutch porselain from Mosa Maastricht, ’50’s. Maybe turn this graphic design into a FMQ-pattern?

Tea pot and cherry bowl (with holes in the bottom).

And my personal favorite: a ’30’s platter and pot.

And by the way: THE SUN CAME OUT TO PLAY!!!!

Yippeeee!

Esther

12 thoughts on “FMQ and thrift

  1. Hoi Esther:

    Tweede FMQ quilt is heel erg mooi .. het herinnert me aan belgische kant en ik ben het met je eens dat het Mosa Maastricht’s porceleijn een ideal FMQ patroon kan zijn. Zal me niet verrassen als het product als een bos uit gaat zien.
    Het was hier vanmorgen veel te koud.
    Annie

  2. Jeetje Esther, mijn naaimachine raakt al in de knoop als ik alleen maar kijk naar je patroontjes! Hoe krijg je het voor elkaar zeg…. (en ik word helemaal vrolijk van je zonnige gele muur!)

    • Je zult veel filmpjes moeten kijken op internet. Daarna moet je goed de handleiding van de naaimachine bestuderen: niet iedere machine kan de transport-voetjes laten zakken (weet niet of je dat zo in het Nederlands zegt: “lower the feed dogs”) Dan zorgen dat je een gladde ondergrond hebt en dan kun je “tekenen” met de machine!
      Ja die gele muur brengt veel warmte in de kamer! Ben er erg blij mee… de serie verf is van Flexa. Heb meer van deze lijn gebruikt in huis: roze in de eetkamer en blauw in de slaapkamer. Ben er nog steeds verliefd op!

  3. Pingback: April Monthly To-Do List Linky Party! | ipatch

  4. Pingback: Charity quilt 01 – Finished! | ipatch

Leave a Reply

