Mostly pink (and some blue)!

The pink baby quilt is coming along! I have doubled the “scrappy”-part and made one bow already. I hope to be able to finish one or two bows in the weekend.

Before:

After:

I enlarged the first half and than made the second half of the “scrappies” one block bigger so I would get a larger darker diamond in the middle.

I have been playing around with the lay-out of the quilt-to-be and this is what I have settled on at the moment.

Have you seen the gorgeous vintage pink stripy fabric with the bows? I am so happy I found that at a thrift store! It just fits perfectly in this quilt. I am planning to use pink stripy fabric as the binding.

At the beginning of February a dear friend from work asked me to teach her how to quilt. We started working on a disappearing Nine Patch in blue and white fabrics. Angelique just loves blue! She was intrigued by my quilts and wanted to see how “it works”. We decided on making a table runner. Once we got started she was hooked! Sorry to pass on this addiction, Angelique! πŸ˜‰

I do not have WIP-pictures, just the “finished-pictures” and these are a bit blurry. I will ask Angelique to take some “in situ” pictures at her home so you can see the quilt better.

Angelique did everything herself except for finishing the binding. I think she did a terrific job and I am really proud of her!

We worked on the table runner three evenings… between sewing we of course had time to catch up on everything concerning work and such as we normally don’t have much time at school. Break times can be so hectic! I loved these “sewing evenings” and I hope we can continue with this tradition. Maybe a pillow next time?

And oh yeah… my co-worker who became a grandfather just adored the blue baby quilt! πŸ™‚

It is still very cold outside. It has not been this cold this time of the month since 1946…. Brrrrrr. Weatherman forcast warmer weather for next week. I do hope he is right this time! We are longing for sun and warmth.

I am linking up with Freshly Pieced,Β Sew much Ado, and Let’s make baby quilts Linky Party.

Esther (with rattling teeth)

22 thoughts on “Mostly pink (and some blue)!

    • Hi Leigh Anne,
      Thank you! I love it too. It is easier to ( paper ) piece than it might look! Have already changed my mind about the lay-out of this quilt, LOL! Will show new photo’s soon!
      Hope to see you again!
      Esther

  1. The pink baby quilt is coming on really nice! your squares look perfectly pieced, I have so much trouble in making each corner meet when I make blocks like this!

    Your friend’s table runner is lovely too, nice fabric choice! I like disappearing 9 patch blocks, they’re a great way to start with patchwork and have an intricate look.

    • Hello! When using the Scrappy trip along- technique I have had not one problem lining the corners up! It was sooooo easy, I was really amazed! I made long 3 inch strips that I alternated white and pink. The white fabric is a very sturdy old sheet.
      I decided to iron the fabric to the pink fabrics after sewing these long strips together. Than I sewed the assembled strips into a tube, right sides together. After that I cut 3 inch wide strips from the tube. Because I had ironed to the pink side instead of opening the seams, now when sewing the new strips togethe, the corners just met perfectly. A very little tug and push at the sewing machine made everything fit perfectly! Hope this will work for you!
      Esther

  2. I’m glad to see that I’m part of a pink baby quilt makers club! Just finished my baby quilt, but yours is much more sophisticated. I really love those bows. Looking forward to seeing the finished quilt.

    • Goodmorning! LOL it is overflowing with cuteness! πŸ˜‰ My mother has decided she wanted another lay-out for the quilt, so the bow will be part of a pillow instead of the quilt. But I promis… The quilt will be even cuter for it! Esther

  3. Pingback: April Monthly To-Do List Linky Party! | ipatch

  4. Eeeeee!!! Maybe one day I will come across some of the vintagey pink stripey fabric with bows at the thrift store. What a fun find!! Your quilt is awesome!!

    • Ha ha πŸ˜‰
      You sound exactly like me standing in that thrift shop! πŸ™‚ I was almost jumping for joy! I will work on that quilt this weekend I hope. I might be able to finish except for the binding. Don’t seem to be able to find solid pink fabric that matches the rest. I prefer going to a bricks and mortar shop for that instead of shopping online. I might need to (oh boy, DANGER!) go to the quiltstore on Saturday!
      Esther

    • I will work on this later today… Hope to finish it! Depends on my stash…. I didn’t want to go into the quiltstore. That is way too dangerous at this moment!!! πŸ™‚
      Esther

Leave a Reply

