Whip up a W.I.P.

I have put the exam papers to the side for a minute. I am halfway through the first round of grading and after dinner I will finish the second half, I hope!!!  The Art exams are nationwide exams that were made on a computer. The students (18 years) still wrote their answers down on the test paper, but the questions were on the computer screen. Some questions contained pictures, some videos and others audio fragments. You can image what my desk looks like at the moment: papers, correction model (is this what you call it?), laptop, note papers, large cups of tea and a cat lying half on my arms and the laptop. Cat is trying to eat my pen too…

I promised  you that I would show you what quilt project I have been working on these last few days. It is not something that is on my May-to-do-list, but something I just really WANTED to do! I am using a pattern I drew up some months ago and I wanted to try out, badly! 😉 The pattern contains two blocks:

Here is a mock up done on the computer of what it will look like later:

The cute fabric with the giraffes is by Thomas Knauer. I have bought more from this collection Savannah Bob. I wish I could have gotten more, but it was sold out. It so adorable! The other fabrics came from Joan’s fabric store, except for the little green dot on white that I found at a local fabric store. Each block is large: 15 inches!

Looking at my blocks I now believe that I need to be a bit more careful with the bright colours in a composition like this. The yellow really stands out, and that was not what I had in mind. I do not dislike it, but it draws a lot of attention.  I am contemplating what to do for the border,  a “mild” orange maybe? What do you think?

Remember that I wrote about that handy Palette Builder App last week? Julie from The Crafty Quilter read about it on my blog and is also spreading the news about this very cool tool! Give her blog a visit! She has a very nice post on things she is SEW thankful for!

I am linking up with Stitch by Stitch’s “Anything Goes“!

Hope you are all well!

Esther

16 thoughts on “Whip up a W.I.P.

  1. I love your new pattern design – I hope it will be a tutorial some day because I would love to try it out on some fabric of my own! I think a mild yellow or orange would look great on your border. And thanks for the shout out, too! I am enjoying the Palette Builder.

    • Hi Julie! I will for sure write up a tutorial, but after all this work stress has passed. Too much to do: exams, writing up tests, last art works need grading, paper to grade, cleaning up class rooms, and then the “Quilt Virus” acts up: I need to create NOW! This always happens when I am really busy with other stuff, ha ha!!!
      Thanks for your input for the border!
      Bye bye
      Esther

    • Hi Marelize! I think I just have to get used to the quilt turning out different to what I thought! 🙂 You are right, a quilt needs a POP of colour!
      Thanks for your comment!
      Esther

  2. Hi Esther:

    I love it! For a finishing touch, why don’t you use the yellow and one of the blues in your border? Hope the rest of the examination period will run smoothy and you can go back to quilting.
    Annie

  3. Pingback: Whipping the W.I.P. | ipatch

  4. Pingback: Cloud Nine | ipatch

  5. Pingback: Pinning down a cloud. | ipatch

  6. Pingback: The next Cloud over | ipatch

  7. Pingback: Three is a Cloud! | ipatch

Leave a Reply

