Lots to stash

So I bought some new fabric… just a little bit…. just enough to keep me busy for the rest of the year…. really, I did not go overboard…. No, it is not that much…just look at the photo’s of other people’s stashes … my stash is “miniscule” compared to their collections, actually! Really!!!

Do you believe me already?

(Giggle) Let’s face it: I bought lots and lots and lots. Well, can you blame me? I went on vacation to the U.S.A. and brought an empty suitcase along. You catch my drift right? I think I can give myself a Master’s Degree in fabric shopping now, frame it, hang it up in the studio and admire it. πŸ˜‰

I did “go shopping with a plan”: buy orange, buy purple (lacking in my “small” stash) and lots of coordinated fabrics for baby boy and baby girl quilts I am planning to make for sale this summer. I kept to my plan, and found some extra gorgeousness along the way.

First three are Β from Jo-Ann’s fabric store, last two came from the Quiltshop in Dunedin, Florida.

Two more Thomas Knauer fabrics, Savanna Bop line, bought online.

Isn’t funny that some stores/lines have very similar collections. Left Jo-Ann’s, right Quilt shop: “Park Slope, Erin Morris for…” (don’t know, can’t read the selvage)

I have heard people talk about the difference in quality Β in cotton fabrics. I must admit that there really is a difference between the designer fabrics and the fabrics that have come from non-quilting-stores. The quilters cottons seems to be softer (like flannel) and sometimes even more silky. The difference in feel is quite striking when you also look at the fabrics that I bought at the local biannual fabric market last week.

Is this the reason why some quilters talk about “interesting textures” in their quilts… They don’t want to scream and shout about working with fabrics that come from another source? πŸ˜‰ Oh, don’t get me wrong, I completely understand if you only want to work with designer fabrics, but for me that is just not on option. The quilt stores here do not have a large collection modern fabrics and ordering online is very expensive due to shipping costs and then the customs tax added to that…. So, I’ll just mix it up!

Here are some more Jo-Ann’s fabrics:

I just love the gray “concrete” / “cement” fabric. i think I found it at Jo-Ann’s, not sure!

Some online finds: COMMA of course! I also bought a charm pack I am a little afraid to cut into.

The pink flowers are from Art Gallery Fabrics.

Sophistication in grey!

And then there was the fabric market last week…. all yard cuts! Had a hard time finding “boy” fabrics though, everything was pink or girl themed! I did my best!

If you are interested in the names on the selvages, please let me know. Not everything can be named, but some sure can.

I have a question for you… while on vacation I did not only buy fabrics. I also bought this gorgeous top from Peck & Peck that is even more gorgeous on me! I fell in love with the fabric from afar in the store! I just had to have it. It reminded me of paintings done by Futuristic artist Giacomo Balla from the 1910’s in Italy. They represent swallows in flight.

So, do you know if there is a designer out there who has something like this in 100% cotton? I would LOVE to use it in a quilt!

Now, where do I stash this new stash? Uh….

I am linking up with “Finding Fifth for “Sunday Stash“.

Esther

30 thoughts on “Lots to stash

    • Oh, Esther…Your new fabrics make my heart sing…..Good for you…just like a good artist and fabric lover does…get more:) I mean, really, an artist does need her palette!!!

  1. Great haul! You’re right about the difference in quality. Jo Ann fabrics are often “craft” fabrics for lining baskets etc. They are more coarse and have less threads per inch but still great designs, how can anyone resist!

  2. You found some good fabrics! My reason/rationalization when working was this: buy now so you don’t have to on retirement income. Now I am retired. I need a new rationalization. So far I’ve done pretty well with this: I want it. πŸ™‚

  3. Loving all those new fabrics – I was laughing through the whole post! I can totally relate to the masters in buying fabric – you can truly never have too much! I also justify my stash because it’s so miniscule compared to others! Can’t wait to see what you make with them!

    • Hi Ashley,
      I think we have to blame blogging for our spending sprees! I just love seeing other people’s studios and stash. It is often so colourful and makes you want to create… Or just stare all the piles in delight. That is exactly what I did last night after emptying one cupboard and filling it with the new fabric. Please do not ask what I did with the previous content of that cupboard…. Luckily there are doors in that cabinet!
      Hope your week will be sunny and warm!
      Esther

  4. Now that’s what I call a shopping spree. What a wonderful range of fabrics. I have to rely on the postman to bring mine for me, but thankfully even with having to pay postage from the US it is still so much cheaper than buying locally, and the choice is just amazing.

    • Hi Paula,
      I am always amazed that the fabric stores over here do not get that people are willing to pay a little bit more ( than regular cotton) for better quality and an original design. And I also do not get that fabric imported from the US has to be this expensive. I have seen fabric that was 7 dollars in the US being sold here for 24 dollars per meter. That is at least three times as much!
      I can’t complain at the moment though, with this huge new stash! πŸ™‚
      Have a great week!
      Esther

    • Hello!
      Yes the purple fabric is fabulous. I love the fact that it all goes well together even though I bought it in two different shops.
      Thanks for dropping by!
      Esther

  5. You did really well with your shopping, and I don’t blame you one little bit. I am so fortunate to have been given lots of fabric over the years, so it’s easy to have a large variety in my quilts. However, I also buy a lot. We won’t talk about how much, okay? πŸ™‚

  6. You have fantastic taste in fabric! I love them all and am delighted that you were able to find so many treasures in the US. I loved looking at them!!

    • Hi Jeneta,
      I could have bought so much more, I really stuck to the plan. But if I was living in the US… Oh boy…. My “sunday stash” would have looked different!
      “Ladies and gents in the US, how do you keep your fabric buying in check with all of those wonderful stores?”
      Bye bye
      Esther

  7. What a fantastic collection! I am envious – I shop on line from the US stores (I live in Australia) and do enough damage that way. If I actually got to go there on a trip – whoa – look out! I love the choices that you made and will look forward to seeing them appear in creations!

    • Yeah WHOA!
      That’s the reaction I had when entering the quilt shop in Dunedin, Florida. From the outside this shop does not look like much, but once you are in you get the scope at how large the store actually is! And I do not even want to tell you about the collection they had there! YUMMY!
      Oh and I discovered a great online fabric shop in Germany that has a large collection of “basic” (regulare) cotton fabrics with dots and strips, just yesterday…. Oh I need to stop shopping! πŸ˜‰
      Esther

  8. I love the multicoloured feathers in the JoAnn’s fabric. And then beside the concrete fabric there is a blue splash pattern that is gorgeous! Total fabric overload to my senses, brilliant haul! If you had an image of the painting you like you could use spoonflower to print it onto as much fabric as you like (i think, i’m not totally sure how to use spoonflower yet!).

    • Thanks for the tip about Spoonflower! I will sure check that out!
      I bought the “blue splash” for a water themed Paper piecing pattern that I am still working on. Great that you thought it looked like water too! πŸ˜‰
      Hope you are all wel!
      Esther

  9. Hi Esther
    It all looks lovely. I loved the comment about how fabrics constitute a “palette” to a quilter , just like paints to a painter. You do have a great “eye” for remembering the patterns and colors of your fabrics so rather than using the words “stash” you should use the word “canvas ” to select fabrics from.
    Annie

  10. I am with you on the expense of shipping costs…so good on you for loading up on holidays. Thanks for linking up to Sunday Stash this week.

    • No, thank you for hosting the Linky Party! It is so much fun to see other peoples new stash… And also a little bit reassuring, because it means you are not the only fabric addict out there! πŸ˜‰
      Bye bye
      Esther

Leave a Reply

