Pinning down a cloud.

Hello!

For those new to my blog: I have written about this “Cloud Nine” quilt here and here!

After basting, my quilt top lay quite flat! I was afraid that the “persuading” (of the blocks to fit) would ruin the quilt top, but it turned out OK. Pretty lucky, right?!

Lots and lots of pins.. close to 300 went in this 45 x 45 inch top! I am not taking chances! LOL!

Than the fun began…. What to do in the quilting department? I started out quilting in the ditch and I immediately wanted to do more…. more lines…. more shapes…. more of everything. 😉

(Is this the same affliction causing huge amounts of new fabric to stash… the I-want-MORE-syndrom?)

I could have gone with only “stitch in the ditch” or even an echo quilting, and that would have been perfectly fine, but NO!!! …. I just felt like something different. I wanted to try out some new techniques and FMQ patterns. You have seen lots of pebbling and stippling in my work already, but I think it was time to be a little bit more creative!

I drew some chalk lines (in purple) on the fabric and away we went! I don’t know what to call this… is it modern… is it classic…. modern take on a classic…. ?

Hard to pin it down, but lots of fun!!!

Front:

Back:

And then there are these two!

The quilting is not perfect, and I am OK with it! I really like the design anyway. The quilting is not really as visible as in the pictures so little mistakes are not very noticable!

I photographed the quilt by hanging it over the ironing board. The ceiling light is directly over it and the beams of light were hitting the “bumps” of the quilt hanging over the side of the ironing board. This way you can see the “highs”and “lows” much better.

I have used this chalk pen to draw the designs on the fabric.

The purple is really visible on the fabrics in my quilt, but now I am a little scared that it might not all come out in the wash.

WHO KNOWS MORE ABOUT THIS?

Should I stop using the chalk?

Esther

I am linking up with W.I.P.Wednesday at Freshly Pieced, Linky Tuesday at Freemotion by the River, Made by Me at JAQS Studio!

34 thoughts on “Pinning down a cloud.

  1. Hoi Esther:
    It looks AMAZING! Maybe you should call the quilt “Heavenly Baby”? I like the combination of stars, hearts and moons (instead of pebbling). Other idea for a name:
    Firmament?
    Annie

    • Thank you very much Jennifer. Can’t wait to the weekend to continue working on it!
      Esther
      esthersipatchandquilt at yahoo dot com
      ipatchandquilt dot wordpress dot com

  2. I haven’t used that type of marking so would be of no help! Echo all previous comments…….awesome!!!! Feels so good when it all comes together, eh? Hugs, Doreen

  3. I would say definitely modern and very nice. I’ve never used those markers…have you tried the friction pen? They show up nicely in different colors and just iron away.

    • Hi Marjorie,
      Thanks for the tip! I will look into those. For now I will use one of those water soluble blue pens. Just hope I can still see the lines on the mostly blue fabrics.
      I hope your sewing projects are going well!
      Esther

  4. Wow your fmq is amazing! Great job! I’ve never used chalk before so can’t offer any advice in that department, sorry.

    • Yeah, maybe should have done that before I started, right? ” Little impatient me!” I will try it this weekend! Bye bye Esther

      Verstuurd vanaf mijn iPad

    • Hello Renee!
      I was happy to stack up with new pins last month in the USA. I wish though that I had gotten a size bigger, these are a bit fiddly.
      Thank you for your kind words on the FMQ, it means a lot coming from you! 🙂
      Esther

  5. Esther, I absolutely LOVE your Cloud Nine quilt colors. They are so soothing, but the yellow gives just enough “pop.” And hopefully, 300 pins will keep it nice and flat while quilting! 🙂

    -Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    • Goodmorning Kelly!
      Thank you for your visit to my blog!
      Yes the 300 pins are doing a great job, everything is nice and flat!!! The more I look at the Cloud Nine quilt, the more I fall in love with it!
      Have a great day!
      Esther

  6. Pingback: The next Cloud over | ipatch

  7. Pingback: Three is a Cloud! | ipatch

  8. I like these designs you’ve created on top of the blocks. Gives very complex look to simple shapes!

    • Hello! i wanted to pay your blog a visit, but it seems to be shut down. Maybe you are not aware of this?
      Thank you for visiting my blog anyway! I hope to finish the cloud nine quilts next week… All four of them, LOL!!!
      Hope you are having a good sewing week!
      Esther

    • Goodmorning!
      Thank you so much for your comment! I had never tried quilting in this manner before. I think I will be doing more of the ” shapes on top of shapes”. It was a lot of fun!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  9. Very good to meet you! I had found you on an earlier blog and then lost your blog. I found you over at The Nifty Stitchers blog. Lovely work! I’m looking forward to browsing around your blog.

Leave a Reply

