Modern Mini Quilt Challenge – (Bird)winging it!

This is my entry post for the Mini Quilt Challenge over at Ellison Lane Quilts!

Some of you are already familiar with my bird pillow, so please feel free to skip this post if you have seen enough of it already! 😉

So dear “Newbees”,

I would like to show you some pictures of the pillow I made for my aunt and uncle in Florida.

( 🙂 Hey there you followers in Florida! )

I finished the pillow in April this year so I could bring it with me for my yearly visit to the US. (Oh my, “Was it wonderful”,  I hear you ask…. Do I need to answer that? Really??? Let’s just say that I found it hard to get into the plane back to Europe.  Enough’s said!)

Kristy of Quietplay let me test drive her pattern of a cardinal on a branch earlier this year. The pattern was part of the Round Robin Winter Wonderland QAL over at Patchwork Posse.

This is what I came up with first!

Than I added some more branches. As spring has finally kicked in by then, I wanted to add some leaves to the branches… but I did not have any supplies for applique. So, I winged it a bit… I pinned some leaf-shaped pieces of fabric to the paper piecing blocks. As the blocks still had all the paper on the back, I assumed  that the paper would stabilize it all so I could sew the leaves on. And it worked! I used a monofilament to attach the leaves to the blocks because I had no idea at that moment what would be the next step. Yeee-ha for improvisation! 😉

I first decided to do some hand quilting over the edges of the leaves, but I changed my mind. On other blogs I had seen these applique pieces with sketchy sewing on top and I was smitten  with the “linear quality” that it added ( 😉 sorry, art teacher-mode kicked in) I had never tried this technique before!

I choose a minty green thread to outline the leave and add some pattern in the branches. And one thing lead to another…. From paper piecing to thread painting! LOL!!!

Of course the little bird needed some more thread too!

I stippled the sky and used pebbling for the “wall” around the window pane. I found it very interesting to play around with a highly figurative blocks instead of more geometric shapes like stars or my set of bow patterns.

I think I will try this thread painting technique again in the future,  it sure was fun to try out!

When the whole thing was quilted I concluded that the beak of the bird needed some black thread and an eye was also missing!

I thought you might get a kick of seeing the back too!

Looking back through all of my pictures I kind of like the clean lines of the paper pieced blocks without any quilting, but I also am enamored by the thread “drawing”.  I may try playing with the contrast of these techniques next to each other.

I turned this panel into a pillow, 20 x 20 inches.

So… ta ta ta DA!

Here is it!

I can proudly say that my aunt and uncle were happy to receive this pillow.  It now ” lives” in a comfy chair near the window that looks out at the bird feeder were every morning the cardinals fight the squirrels for the food.

There is some proof of the “real thing”!

I was sitting in front of the sliding doors for quite some time before I could get these pictures! These photo’s are amongst my favorite of this gorgeous holiday!

Please go over to Ellison Lane to check the other entrees out! They are all so wonderful and striking!  Feast your eyes!

I have also linked up with a new Linky Party at My quilt infatuation: “Needle and Thread Thursday”.

Bye bye

Esther

17 thoughts on “Modern Mini Quilt Challenge – (Bird)winging it!

    • Thank you for dropping by! It was sooo much fun to make this cushion! The quilt vibes just ” flowed”, LOL!
      I hope that in a few weeks time I can try the threadpainting again… To busy at work right now! Can’t wait for the summer break! Six week of sewing time! 😉
      Bye bye
      Esther

    • Thank you Jamie! I hope this bird pillow is considered modern enough though LOL! There are so many definitions on what modern quilting is… I just do whatever I like!
      Thank you for visiting my blog!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  1. From the happy recipients of your pillow quilt: We enjoy the pillow every day and are reminded of your visit. Adding the pictures brings a special meaning to your story.it looks like someone waxed the croton plant. Much Love.. your uncle Walt and Aunt Annie.

  2. I love cardinals! I love this pattern and the the FMQ is perfect. I love the applique, too! Love,love, love! So bummed I missed the winter fun:(

Leave a Reply

