Seeing green diamonds.

Alright, I have jinxed it! Two days ago I wrote that that day was the best day of this summer: sunny, a little bit breezy…. just perfect! Since then: rain, gray skies, colder…. ARGGG! It was supposed to be such nice today and I am taking all of the blame! Sorry you people local to me; I hope to never do this again! šŸ˜‰

(And if you are not local to me… Sorry if you have had bad weather, but it wasn’t me! šŸ˜‰ My “powers” do not reach that far!)

I worked some more on the “green diamond” pillow yesterday evening. I am finished with patching the front panel, finished with the basting and also done with quilting! Here is the proof!

I FMQ the gray wider strips and the white diamonds. I did not have a plan, except to use a different FMQ pattern in each little area. I just went with it. It was reallllllllly fun! I will be doing lots of FMQ in the future!!!

First some favorite parts!

The back…

And of course the front!

I love the overall effect. Loving the FMQ. Not so much the points not matching up…(Something I am not showing you in detail, you just have to believe me that some of the points are way out LOL!Ā Ā  )Ā  Ok, I have still some “stuff” to learn šŸ˜‰

Next on the agenda is sewing the back! Keeping it simple there: envelope style!

I am linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation!

Bye Bye

Esther

20 thoughts on “Seeing green diamonds.

    • Hello Heather!
      Thank you so much for your wonderful comment! The recipients were very happy with the pillow. I was actually quiet hard to give the pillow away, because I liked it so much!
      Esther

    • Hi Susan!
      I am so glad that it all turned out this nice. You know, it was hard to give the pillow away, even if you know that it will be appreciated in its new home. šŸ™‚
      I might make one for myself in the upcoming weeks!
      Esther

    • Hello!
      I was inspired by all those great quilt designs I encounter online. Whatever I like, I just try out. Whatever turns out alright ( or better šŸ™‚ ) I put it in a quilt. Whatever doesn’t look good I either try to perfect or ends up in the bin, ha ha!
      Bye bye!
      Esther

  1. Hi Esther:

    Very stunning .. congratulations. This is the most dimensional design you have ever tried. There is so much depth in this one. It literally “jumps off” the palette. Sorry about your weather.
    Annie

    • Hi Annie!
      Thank you for allof the most wonderful comments. The weather is much better by the way. I just had the most wonderful weekend with friends, partying and having drinks in the sun.
      The pillow went to a couple of these friends and they were very happy with it!
      Hugs
      Esther

    • Thanks a lot!
      Yes the pillow turned out wonderful! I was impressed by it myself LOL!!!
      Sometimes projects turn out better than you think! šŸ˜‰
      Have a wonderful week!
      Esther

    • Hello Amanda!
      Yes the pillow turned out wonderful! I might have to make another one… Just for me! Why oh why do we always make stuff for others and not for ourselves? I will have to change this!
      šŸ™‚
      Esther

  2. Esther, this quilt is so awesome! I love the illusion when all of the blocks are put together, and your quilting really enhances the design. Thank you so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    šŸ™‚ Kelly

    • Hello Kelly!
      Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog!
      I really love how the pattern creates an optical illusion of depth. I will have to try this again, but with more consideration to the colours and values and “pump” the illusion up a bit.
      Thanks for hosting the Linky Party again!
      Esther

    • Hi Cynthia,
      Yep, you are right! I gave the pillow away this weekend! Nobody saw the points not matching! They all spoke about the quilting, LOL!
      Great hiding trick! šŸ™‚
      Esther

Leave a Reply

