Slab cat!

Some already know, but there is a quilt block drive going on for the victims of the devastating floods in Calgary, Alberta.

You can read more about this on Cheryl’s blog: “Dining Room Empire“.

When I was cleaning up my scraps yesterday I selected some aqua/blue-greeny fabric to turn into a slab block. The request is for 15,5 inch square blocks made up of rectangles in one colour. So I tried to make one… ( I have never done improv patching before)

So the cat took over the scraps…

“No no no Esther, I am not moving!”

Finally I was able to persuade her to move over to her little cuddly area on the table where she sleeps when I am sewing.

RESULT!

I had so much fun, I made another one…

And another one!

I also wanted to remind you about the magnificent Blog Hop and Paper Piecing Instructions series on “13 spools”. It is this going strong! Please give Amy’s site a visit!

Esther

p.s. I am linking up with TGIFF, and Finish it Up Friday!

13 thoughts on “Slab cat!

    • Goodmorning!
      I had never tried making something like an improv block, but it was a great way to use up those treasured scraps! I will sure do more in the future!
      I hope the sun isout where you are!
      Esther

  1. thanks so much for the shoutout, Esther! I’m especially loving your green one! I have a horrible time picking out greens, and those are just lovely.

    • Hi Amy,
      Yeah the green one is my favorite too! I used a lot of vintage fabrics in that one. Luckily I have some more of each of them, so I will be making “stuff” with them!
      Thank you very much for visiting my blog!
      Bye bye

    • Hi Susan!
      LOL!
      Dog-peddle-space! The cat always to creep onto my lap or finds the fabrics the perfect place to lie down for a nap! šŸ™‚
      Thanks for the info on your site!
      Bye bye
      Esther

    • Hi Laura,
      Yes, Cheryl ( who is orgazing the drive ) asked for them to be put together like this. I will be doing more, but on a smaller scale. Maybe turn them into a baby quilt or something like that. I love using my scraps to the last possible bit and keeping my scrap bins not overflowing!
      I hope you are having fun sewing!
      Esther

    • Looking back at the pictures, YES šŸ˜‰ , but at the time I could have “thrown” her of the table! She always does that… lay down on that piece of fabric that I need at that precise moment!
      Hope you are having a fab Wednesday!
      Esther

  2. Pingback: Wednesday progress | ipatch

Leave a Reply

