Quilting 101 – a blogaversary

A blogaversary! That’s what this is!!! (And something else…. πŸ˜‰ scroll down to see what that may be!)

This is post 101 in a little over 6 months… phew-eeee I have been busy πŸ˜‰ LOL

My first post was on the 16th of January 2013. I embarked on “the blogging thing” with lots of enthousiasm and desire to be part of the online quilting community. As some of you konw I have been patching fabrics together for about three years now. I worked on a project or two in the summer breaks and holidays. I really liked being creative with colour, fabrics and patterns.

This last half year quilting has become MUCH MORE IMPORTANT as a way of self expression. Quilting has now a firm place in my life and has certainly taken over a room in my apartment!!! LOL

(OH I LOVE MY SEWING ROOM!!!)

I just wanted to share some of my quilting lessons; things I have learned on the way and things I want to share! So here goes:

QUILTING 101 (with some pretty pictures along the way)

I have learned that…

– quilting makes me really happy! It feeds my urge to create, to play, to learn and to communicate.

– quilting/blogging lets me see thing more in perspective. “What is important in life and what is not”.

– quilting is addictive.

– blogging is addictive too!

– I love making new quilty friends.

– I love the support we are giving each other.

– I love the help and advice you have given me and I love that I can do the same for others too!

– I love buying fabric…. oops! ( Is this a side effect? πŸ˜‰ )

– my blog is a way to keep myself in check… I would start new projects all over the place if nobody was watching. You keep me, kind of, accountable for finishing what I have started!!! LOL

– I can be a impulsive with projects. I just start and improvise on the way. Sometimes that turnes out fine, and sometimes not, ha ha! My first projects (that I have not shown on this blog) were a real learning curve. I see them as “lessons” and not as a flawed quilts.

I want to share that…

– please do not be scared of new techniques! Just give it a go, you might be really good at it! Even if you are rubbish not so good, you can pratice! Nobody was born with perfect FMQ “feather-abality” for instance!

– quilting is playtime. It does not have to have a reason, it can just be fun!

– handmade gifts are so appreciated!

TALKING ABOUT GIFTS…. How about a giveaway to celebrate my 100 posts and 6 months of blogging?

OK there are actually two giveaways…, but one has already passed! I offered the next baby quilt to one of my friends and colleagues. I asked them to nominate someone else to receive this baby quilt. I picked the nomination that spoke to me the most. My colleague T came and picked it up today.

So what is the other giveaway? I have three 9″ strips WOF quilting cotton on offer!

Here are the rules:

~Please name your number in your comment! This wordpress setup does not allow me to count the comments. Please do it for me. So the first to comment is number 1, the second one is number 2 and so on!

– Please leave your email address if you are a no-reply blogger! If I can not contact you, I will pick someone else!

– One comment per person!

– I will ship all over the world!

– If you are the winner I would love to see whatever you have made with the fabric!

– The winning number will be picked on next Monday 8 p.m. (Dutch time)

I am celebrating my blogaversary with a cool pink beer!

Let the comments roll in, boys and girls!

Esther

35 thoughts on “Quilting 101 – a blogaversary

  1. Well, I’m first. Number 1.

    Congratulations. I love your blogging 101. All of it’s so true. And I seriously love your projects and am excited again and again, even if my commenting is patchy. Thanks for stopping by my place three months ago and introducing yourself, wouldn’t want to miss it. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your celebratory beed, I’m raising my apple juice and prosecco on ice to you. It’s sooo hot, I stopped sewing and, more importantly, ironing for the day…gee, I love summer but this weekend is nuts!

  2. Number 2.
    What great things you have made and shared on your blog. I love the cardinal especially, it was my mothers favorite bird and reminds me of her.
    mindingmomma(at)aol(dot)com

  3. Number 3.Congratulations!Only three years quilting,wow,it looks more years and I love your projects.It was nice meet you.enjoy your celebrations and hope more to come.
    Have a fun weekend.

  4. Congratulations Esther on your beautiful projects they are amazing! Your so kind to do the giveaway. I am no 5. Have a great day ….Marie

  5. Congratulations on your blogiversary, Esther! It has been great to get to know you during the last 6 months. To see your kind words left on everyone’s blogs is part of the proof in what you say about liking to meet new quilty friends. You are always so supportive and sweet! I am number 6. But I like 13 better…. Thanks for being a great friend, Esther!

  6. Congrats on your accomplishment. I agree with everything you have said! I love the online community as well. Looking forward to seeing more if your posts. Cheers from #7

  7. #8
    I happened to only recently follow you. I saw your work in progress from another blog and started watching your work.
    I really liked your light blue, off white and gold quilt you recently ran a tutorial for. Your work is fun and pretty. Thank you for sharing. Happy anniversary!

  8. I’m number 9
    I just recently found your blog, so I’ve had a lot of fun looking back at all your older posts. I love it when I find a nice quilting blog!
    Your quilts and other projects are inspiring!
    And where on earth did you get the pink beer??

    • Hello Kim,
      I made you number 9!
      The pink beer is a local beer that has been storming the country for about two years now. This is definitely a summer girly drink. Is is a fruity beer very similar to the Kriek beer from Belgium. Ours are a bit sweeter, but is definitely not lemonade! I have tried a fruity beer in the US this year, but that was just awfull, that was like an overdose of lemonade. (You know the kind you have to add water too?). Anyway the Wieckse RosΓ© was yummy!

  9. I’m number 10, congratulations on your 101st post! I was really surprised to hear that you’ve only been blogging for 6 months, I had assumed that you had been doing this for years – in a good way, you seem like a natural & really experienced. I guess that means you’ve found your niche, well done!

  10. HI, Number 10 here. Congratulations on your anniversary, it takes quite a commitment to keep up a blog. I enjoy reading your blog as I think you have a great color sense, explain your process so well and seem to be continually challenging yourself – well done !
    Colleen

  11. At this point I’m not sure if I’m 13 or 14!!!!!! LOL! All I can say, Esther, is “Amen, Sista'” to all you said and a huge “CONGRATS”……I’m lovin’ the blog-thing, too!!! Hugs……

  12. Congratulations! That’s quite a milestone and what a lovely gallery you have! It’s neat to see it all together like this. Thanks for being great and sharing what you do, I so enjoy it! πŸ™‚

  13. Esther Congratulations! I agree wholeheartedly – I love this blogging community and have really enjoyed getting to know you!
    xo jan

Leave a Reply

