Ancient FMQ inspiration?

Good morning everyone!

Yesterday was a blast (and hot!) The four of us went to see the exhibition on Etruscan Art in the roman history museum in the city of Tongeren in Belgium. The blogtitle refers to this exhibit! Before I show you some (dark and blurry, sorry!) pictures I want to share some finished quilting projects! It is Friday of course!

You may have seen this one before: a orange little cushion (13,5 inches)…

And you have seen the W.I.P.-pics of this next one too! Now it is finished!

I used a blue thread for the stippling (FMQ) as there was already soooo much red in this quilt.

And there is a new little project too! Remember this quilt top?

I had some fabric left and I thought a cushion to go with this one would be nice! I had played with the fabrics and the sewing machine! Just the front is done! The rest will follow this weekend.

I have been drawing a lot of feathers on paper, but on fabric it is still a bit more difficult. Alright, the FMQ is not perfect, but that was not what I was aiming for… I just wanted to play. Drawing with the sewing machine is sure fun!

Using a contrasting thread makes your shapes and mistakes more visible, but I think this patchwork is very forgiving! At first glance the wobbly lines are not that noticable… I know, perfection was not the aim! Just fun! LOL!!!

OK, I have promised you some pictures from the exhibit in Tongeren. Three of my colleagues and I go on a “museum trip” each vacation. This time we went to this excellent exhibition on the art of the Etruscan cilvilization. I have taken many pictures, but most of them are blurry or too bright due to the flash. The rooms were very very very dark. The objects in the exhibit were Etruscan, Greek, and from central Europe.

So, how about some Ancient FMQ inspiration?

Decorative gold band for drinking horne, made in central Europe.

Drinking vessel from Vulci, Etruria, 320-300 BC. Pottery.

I think I will try drawing this on paper and converting it to FMQ pattern. Should be interesting!

Some other beauties (non FMQ) from the exhibit.

A funeral vessel in the shape of a man. Made in Chuisi, Sarteano, 650-580 BC.

Model of a cart, 400-200 BC, Bolsena.

Three soldiers and a female. Bronze, 560-550 BC. Part of the decoration of a large vessel on a tripod. (Oldest known koroi (the guys!) in walking position in the world)

These hares come from the same vessel (as the soldiers).

And then some modern neon lettering showing the Etruscan script. The letters are derived from the Greek alphabet but are pronounced a bit differently. It is read from right to left. The prounciation is “known” but the meaning of a lot of words is still a mystery!

And of course my own name in Etruscan script:

Have a wonderful weekend! I will try and escape the heat in my parent’s house!

p.s. I will be linking up with TGIFF, Finish it Up Friday, Can I get a Whoop Whoop, and of course FMQ Friday over at Leah Day’s blog when those blogposts are up!

40 thoughts on “Ancient FMQ inspiration?

  1. That is so cool! The talent that they possessed with such limited tools! Patience too. Your free motion again is lovely. I can’t see any flaws : )

    • Good morning Carla,
      I finally found some time to respond to all of the comments that came in this week (amazing!)
      The exhibit was really impressive. I have been dabbling in silversmithing for a year know and I still find that very challenging. Seeing all of these metal objects makes you wonder how in the world that they accomplished those without all of the tools I have at my disposal in the jewelry-design-course.
      The next course will start in September. Can’t wait to see all of the girls there again! Such a blast every week!
      bye bye
      Esther

  2. That exhibit looks to be amazing and much inspiration for sure! Your paisley and feathers are wonderful!!! Your FMQ is beautiful and chosen perfectly for the pieces!!! Hugs…….

  3. All that ancient history is interesting and beautiful…. But I truly enjoyed seeing your free motion play on the pillow front best! Both pillow actually…. Thanks for sharing, Esther!

    • Hello Lorna!
      That pillow my favorite-of-the-week! I loved the way I just could play with it, no pressure of a commission or selfimposed pressure! πŸ˜‰
      bye bye
      Esther

    • I love those feathers too, just wish that they were a bit more even as my drawings are. (says the perfectionist πŸ˜‰ )
      Thanks for dropping by again!
      I hope you and your loved ones are happy and healthy!
      Esther

  4. Your quilting looks great! I am thinking of using contrasting thread…I’ve been using matching to “hide” it while I learn, but find I can’t see the previous line when I want to echo…Maybe next quilt.

  5. When I read “museum” I had to read more! Your orange pillow looks great, & I like making Envelope Pillows.
    ~ Judy

    • Hey Judy! I just love those envelopes too. I am not a fan of zippers. I always scratch myself or the leather couch! Have to investigated how to make hidden zippers!
      bye bye
      Esther

  6. Your fmq is amazing, I love how you intertwine different styles within the same piece. the Etruscan exhibition must have been brilliant and as you say, lots of fmq ideas. Seeing works like this is so refreshing and opens one’s imagination.

    • Hello Karen!
      Yes quilting has made me look at things very differently when visiting museums, ha ha! It was a fabulous day with three of my friends!!! I am so glad to have them in my life! I hope you have friends like them too!
      Esther

    • Hello Christa!
      Thanks so much for dropping by! Just came back from my “buy more fabric” tour! COuldn’t find what I was looking for, but found some other good basic solids though. Now onwards to more FMQ!!!
      bye bye!
      Esther

  7. That tiny pillow is beautiful and your FMQ is stunning. I just can’t seem to get the hang if it and usually just do loops.

  8. Very cool! You know I love the pillow and the rest of the work is pretty sweet too! Museums are some of my favorite places. One day, I’m going to spend a whole month in a single museum spending tons of time with each piece. Maybe doodle them, do some research on the artist including other work, and learn more about the mediums. Why oh why can’t I win that darn lottery!!

  9. Hi there. I love your finished projects – very different, both lovely. I really like the red and blue quilt. It would be right at home next to 1930s repros, and yet it is very modern. Oh, and your quilting on that teal and cream pillow front? Amazing!

  10. Hi ΕστθΡρ! Exiting and interesting post! I love your projects and the orange pillow!
    Etruscan script is strange for me but looks very similar with the Greek – how fun!
    Sunshine from Greece! x Teje

Leave a Reply

