Kind of loopy!

It has been a loopy kind of few days! I am on a mad dash to finish lots of W.I.P.’s before school starts again in over a week ( Help! πŸ˜‰ )
I find it very distracting to have a pile of unfinished projects in the house when I need to concentrate on work. So, I am in the middle of some “hard quilting days” to get my house more or less W.I.P.-free! LOL!!!

Two baby quilts were already “touched with some FMQ” earlier this week in my W.I.P.-hop. One is now waiting for more thread to finish the FMQ and the arrival of the binding fabric for another quilt. ( Crazy story, I will have to share whenever, if ever, that fabric arrives! ) For those visiting from Finish It Up Friday linky party; here are some of the projects I am talking about. If you have already seen them, please just scroll down to see the new “stuff”!

After sorting through my box of test blocks I selected the ones that would be relatively easy to turn into something usable. I started with the blocks I made a few months ago to test my “Dizzy” paper piecing pattern. I turned them into cute cushions to fit the smaller IKEA cushion forms.

I have tried out three different ways of binding the cushions.

First of all the “attach binding to the back, then do some stitching at the front”:

The binding on the back looks really nice and even with a seam next to it, but the stitching shows up on the front. I personally really do not mind, but I know other people do.

Secondly, “Attch binding at the front. Stitching in the ditch on the front”:

Very neat and tidy at the front, but a bit messy at the back. See…

The amount of the binding next to the seam varies.

QUESTION: Will this improve with more practice? Or do I just have to accept that this is what it will look like?

Thirdly: no binding at all! LOL ! I sewed the front and back pieces together when they were facing each other. Then turned the inside out, one more seam and TADA!

I really like how this has turned out, but I am not sure if I would want to use this method if the fabrics on the back were thicker than quilting cotton.

One more picture to show the simple FMQ I did on this cushion.

OK, no more cushions for a while!!!

A couple of months ago I tried my hand at making some pinwheels. It was a learning curve to say the least, but I did not want to throw the results away. I sewed them together and added two borders, like this:

I added another border yesterday to enlarge the whole thing and put a piece of light blue flanel on the back. A lovely lady at school donated the flanel, great right?

I used a loop-de-loop FMQ pattern in the light blue border and a mix of different FMQ pattern in the dark blue border.

The FMQ patterns can be better identified from the back.

This little baby quilt will be going to one of my family/friends/colleagues with a giveaway on my private facebook page. This is not a public giveaway, but I promis there will be ANOTHER GIVEAWAY, just for you!!! Just wait a few more days!

I have got one more project to share with you today! Remember this cushion?

It is made with my pattern “Blurry”. I had a test block left over that I wanted to use for something else than a cushion ( Yeah yeah, I know I am also a bit “cushioned out” as I have said before in this post πŸ˜‰ ) I wanted a really girly baby quilt for my “presents-pile” that I keep handy for birthdays and other celebrations (like new babies!) I continued with the rainbow theme from the centre block!

FMQ: Loop-de-loop FMQ again… there is a little butterfly in there too! πŸ™‚

I have used another piece of the blue flanel I was given. I may have used the “wrong” side of the flanel here. Don’t know! I have another piece of flanel that has a print on it and there you can easily identify the right and wrong side of the fabric, but with a solid piece of flanel I have found it hard. Is there a way to tell the difference?

Loopy days, loopy quilts, greetings from loopy me!

Esther

I am linking up with Finish It Up Friday on crazymomsquilt! As there is also some foundation paper piecing in my list of Finishes, I am also linking up with QuietPlay’s Linky Party. Oh, and before I forget, there is a special Linky Party for Baby Quilts! Great idea!!! Please do not forget to check out the gorgeous FMQ skills you can admire at Leah Day‘s blog and Linky Party!

28 thoughts on “Kind of loopy!

  1. Lots of beautiful finishes! Been following you for a while now and it’s always nice to see how your projects come together. You are an amazing quilter.

  2. what beautiful work, I am glad I came across your blog! I am stopping by from the Paper Piecing part hop! Happy Friday!

  3. I found your descriptions of different pillow binding methods helpful. I’ve only tried binding a pillow once and it went SO HORRIBLY that I just don’t bind them anymore. I love how you topstitched around the edge of the one you didn’t bind! That’s a neat finish that I hadn’t seen before.

    • Hi Laura!
      I think I like the “attach at the back, stitch at the front-binding” the best still as it is the easiest for me. I think I will let future binding depend on the thickness of the fabric I have used. I have practised the “stitch at the front, fold binding to the back and than stitch in the ditch at the front” technique some more. It is getting better, but still not perfect! Don’t think it will ever be! LOL! We are still human right?
      Esther

    • Hi Paula!
      Yes I agree! Handstitching can be very very perfect and pretty, but it takes way too much time for my taste. And as most of my projects will get heavy use (I hope) I think that sewing with the sewing machine is the most durable.
      Bye bye
      Esther

  4. Wat mooi allemaal Esther! De kleuren en de blokken die je gemaakt hebt. Prachtig die afwerking met die steken. De band er omheen krijg je nog wel onder de knie. Het kan echt netjes. Bij mij gaat het steeds beter. Strijk je het dubbel voor je het aan de quilt stikt? Dat helpt mij. Fijn weekend!

    • Hoi Maartje,
      Ja ik strijk het dubbel met flink wat stijfsel. Ik denk dat ik het na het bevestigen eens moet omstrijken naar de achterzijde met een duidelijke vouw of zo. Misschien verschuift het dan niet meer zo. Oefening baart kunst, zullen we maar zeggen he… Deze quilts zijn echt een wereld van verschil met mijn oude werk: “ik deed maar wat” eigenlijk! Sinds ik het internet intensief afstruin naar tutorials, ideetjes en voorbeelden gaat alles veel beter. Lang leve het internet!
      Heel erg bedankt voor het reageren Maartje, ik ken maar weinig Nederlandse quilters! Heel fijn om iemand te ontmoeten!!!
      Groetjes en een heel fijn weekend!
      Esther

      • Dat stijven doe ik weer niet. Hoe doe je dat, wat gebruikt je ervoor bedoel ik?
        Ja heerlijk internet. Ik voel me schuldig bij hett lokale quiltwinkeltje hier, dat ik nooit naar een cursus ga. Maar ook ik vind alles op Internet.
        Ik vind echt dat je mooie dingen maakt. Jij kiest van die mooie kleuren!

        Fijne zondag!

        • Hoi Maartje,
          Sorry voor de later reactie!
          Ik gebruik een stijfsel in een spuitbus gevonden bij de AH. Wit met aqua blauwe fles. Volgens mij ligt de prijs rond de 2,75 Euro. Best prijzig dus. Ik heb ondertussen een ander merk geprobeerd uit Duitsland, maar dat spul “plakt” niet zo goed. En dat is precies wat je wilt bij het maken van een binding. De dubbelgevouwen stof kan dan niet meer verschuiven. Het stijven met de Duitse spuitbus gaat wel prima. De prijs voor een grote bus (groter dan de Nederlandse) ligt onder de 1 euro!!! Ik heb nog een ander merk gezien in de Duitse supermarkt dat ik de volgende keer eens proberen. Ik laat je wel weten hoe dat gaat!
          Bedankt voor je compliment! πŸ™‚
          Esther

  5. Wow- you have been crazily prolific- do you sleep? I love your colour choices. I especially love those 3 cushions- so bright!

  6. Oh, wow — it looks like you’re having all kinds of fun! I love the quilting on the blue quilt at the top of the post, and also your girly baby quilt. Thanks for linking up. πŸ™‚

  7. ok I have to say I love the pillows (all of them). I agree with TBZ…I would not know what it would be like not to have any WiP’s, lucky you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

