Caboose on the loose

Last week many of you suggested I add a caboose to my train

… so here it is!

The pattern was finished yesterday and I pieced it this evening!

I am totally running out of the green fabric. I never intended for the train to get this long, ha ha!!!

I have tried to find this fabric online before I continue, but I do not know the maker for sure. I think it is by Robert Kaufman, the Dazzle collection. The problem is that the Dazzle fabric is more colourful than the two tone fabric I have. The dots also seem to be a bit different. I will write the Robert Kaufman customer service tomorrow and see if they can help me trace this bright (bright!) green fabric.

 

See? There is more yellow in this fabric and there are more large dots!
It is also possible that the green fabric is by Camelot Cottons, but I have not been able to find anything similar online. Another email to write tomorrow, I believe!Maybe one of you know the name of my green fabric? I do know that I have had the same fabric in a very very light gray. The Dazzle by RK does not come in a light gray.

I have found it already! DUH!!!
I was looking in the wrong place!
Happy dance!

In the meanwhile there have been many additions to the train pattern, but they are all digital at the moment. I hope I can try two of the new blocks out tomorrow.

Yesterday I was surprised by an email by my tester Marjorie who lives in Mexico. She already finished one of the test blocks for the Chugging Along pattern.

Isn’t it wonderful?

The background fabric could symbolise earth of even a mountain! Very clever!

Thank you Marjorie for your quick and beautiful work!!!

Hugs,

Esther

p.s. I am linking up with the Paper Pieced Party at Quiet Play, Finish Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts and Can I get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict.

27 thoughts on “Caboose on the loose

  1. Maybe http://missingfabrics.com/ could help you with your green fabric. You can scan your fabric, so don’t have to know the name or maker, and if someone has some they are willing to sell, they will let you know. I was in a group project and we used the site once and got just the right amount for our border.

    • I never knew a site like that existed! How wonderful!!!
      Luckily I was able to trace the green fabric after a good night’s sleep. I totally overlooked it on the website of one of my favorite quilt shops. Silly right?
      I will save the link to the site you mentioned, it might really be needed sometime in the future.😉
      Esther

    • Another great idea! Wow, I need to write that one down too! Silly me found the fabric this morning already! It was by Classic cottons and not Camelot cottons and aptly named “My little town”. Hey, did they know I was going to design these blocks? LOL!
      Thanks Doreen for the wonderful tip!
      Esther

  2. This set is adorable! How many more additions will you have? And I like Marjorie’s test block. I think the background fabric could be a hay field.

    • Hi Kathleen,
      Uhm, how many? Too many probably, ha ha!
      At the moment I have about five more carriages done, one building and I have three or four other blocks to design…. yeah, too much!😉
      I can’t seem to stop.
      I really like you idea about the hayfield! Great thinking!!!
      Thank you for dropping by!
      Esther

  3. Just so sweet, Esther. Aren’t you tempted to carry on adding more carriages? And thanks for teaching me a new word – I had to look up caboose. It is a guard’s van in England.
    Love,
    Muv

    • Tempted? Oh boy, have I been!

      Yes, there are many more carriages on the way. I am testing them out as we speak as I do not want to ask anybody to test them now with such a tight deadline. I am also waiting for my green fabric to arrive and make a decision on what colour to use for the carriages.Other than that, it is the case of finding the time to draw up the pdf file. Lots of work stil ahead.

      Thank you for letting me know about the other name of the caboose. In Dutch the word “kombuis” means kitchen, specifically in a ship. I believe the word caboose comes from “kombuis” as there used to be a little stove in a caboose. I have also read that cabooses were used by miners as communal rooms to drink coffee or have a meal. I have not been able though to find the Dutch word for the last train carriage like caboose is in the U.S. English. I will have to ask my brother, the train-man.

      Thanks for stopping by Muv!
      Esther

    • 🙂 I am having such great fun!

      The “problem” is that I keep coming up with new ideas for this set and many more sets. When this set of “trains” is all done, I have about 3 more great ones lined up.

      Thank you for dropping by!
      Esther

    • Hello Susan!
      Thank you for leaving your sweet comment. I hope to provide some great ideas for what to do with the blocks included in the pattern. I am think sets of pillows to create the train, or a bumper pad for in a toddler’s bed, maybe a large bucket for train related toys! Who says these have to become a quilt?🙂
      Hugs,
      Esther

  4. Esther, when I first saw these patterns (before I even volunteered to test) the first thing I thought of was a little boys quilt. Thanks for letting me test for you, your patterns are always such fun.

  5. Pingback: Fun times | ipatch

Leave a Reply

