Fun times

Shena sent me this picture!

Did you spot the little conductor?

Oh boy, he is cute!

The red-brown flowery fabric of the locomotive really looks bit like rust or old metal. Great choice, Shena!

I have been paper piecing too…

(once more of the green fabric was ordered and delivered!)

… more blocks for “Chugging Along”

A stack of cargo and a signal house!

All made with my new fabrics for the brown parts.

You just HAVE to understand that I HAD to HAVE that new fabric to complete these, don’t you? 🙂

(If you would like to see more of the train pattern, please click here and here)

There are many more blocks coming up. Here are some sneak peeks!!!

   

I am looking forward to finish all of the new blocks this weekend… (knock on wood)

A funny thing happened last week! A colleague mentioned that there was a new quiltshop in the nearest town, Brunssum. So, immediatley after the last lesson of the day, I jumped in the car and went to see for myself!

Yep.. QUILTSHOP!   🙂

Sunny, bright and wonderful fabrics!

The owner Rita had made this wonderful quilt (sorry for the weird angle!)

Rita and I immediately hit it off! It was such a fun afternoon!!! I also met the very funny Anneke!

(Hi Rita and Anneke!)

Rita asked me to do a little speech on quilting on the official opening of the shop. That was yesterday!

(Rita on the left, me on the right)

Thank you Rita for letting me share my enthousiasm for quilting!

Esther

p.s. I am linking up with the Paper Pieced Party at Quiet Play, Finish Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts and Can I get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict.

24 thoughts on “Fun times

  1. Oh that conductor is too cute! I wish I had thought of that too…makes me want to make a whole new set with little faces in the windows! Yay for new quilt shops!

  2. Waaah! It’s a small world. My sister lived in Oirsbeek for many years, her husband taught in the school in Hoensbroek. You’re almost a neighbour! Dag, buurvrouw Esther…

      • It’s dreadful, but I can’t remember whether it was primary or secondary. Probably secondary. His name was Huib van Rhijn. He died a good few years ago after a long illness, so it may be before your time. My sister lives in Berg en Terblijt now.

        • Nope, don’t know him. Sorry! There are several other schools around. Maybe my colleagues may have met him. It is a close-knit teacher community here, ha ha! We tend to stick around where we grew up. Most stay within a 40 mile radius.
          Your sister lives in a very pretty village, by the way! I have family there too!
          Quilters, even the one that are far away, feel very close by, LOL!!!
          Esther

    • Hello Jacqui!
      Thank you very much for your wonderful comment! I still have some paper piecing to do. I hope to be able to get some more wheels for the train carriages pieced tomorrow evening. Luckily I am getting better and quicker with those!
      Thanks for the visit!
      Esther

  3. I can just see you two hitting it off!!!! That little shop is one that I would find very agreeable, also. The displays are so much “eye candy”!!!! So many of my bloggy friends are into paper piecing but it so doesn’t mesh with who I am!! It’s a good thing we aren’t all into the same thing……it would be a dreary world for sure!!!!!! I do love the trains, though!!!! (especially with that cute conductor!) Hugs………….

    • Hello Doreen!
      We had a blast. I hope to go back to the shop next week and get some more fabric. Maybe I can use the excuse “its for the train” again. What do you think… Can I fool myself like that AGAIN?😉
      Hugs,
      Esther

    • Thank you very much Jasmine!
      You are so sweet! I am still in love with the trains and I catch myself staring at the design wall whenever I pass the room.
      Hope you are having a wonderful and productive week. Are you already working through the red stash pile ?
      Esther

    • Shena did a great job, hey! I loved that fussy cutting in the train so much, I just had to show you all!
      Thank you Jeneta for leaving such a wonderful compliment for the other testers!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  4. Super cargo and signal box, Esther! Love the photo of you and Rita – couple of very happy ladies indeed🙂

    • Hello Jennifer!
      That was one fun afternoon in the quilt shop. I met so many new and interesting people! Just like the online quilting community! Lots of friends around!!!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  5. Hoi Esther,

    Bedankt voor je nieuwsbrief! Wat leuk hoe je me hebt vermeld daarin! Hartelijk bedankt!

    Bijgaand nog enkele foto’s van jou tijdens de opening van de winkel.

    Groeten en fijn weekend, Rita

  6. Pingback: the motherlode | ipatch

  7. Pingback: Chugging Along – Finished!!! | ipatch

Leave a Reply

