Juliet’s sewing machine

Hello everyone!

I was kind of missing in action… work took priority over sewing the first couple of weeks of this new school year. I truly love my work, but I wish that some things would not take up that much preparation time.

I truly love my work… especially if we get to go on a field trip. A field trip of your dreams! We went to Italy for 6 days with 4 teachers in total and 43 teenagers. We had an absolute blast!!! I do believe we have never ever had such a fantastic group of kids with us! I have been on the same trip for 7 or 8 times going all over Tuscany and Umbria.

Everytime we get to see the leaning tower of Pisa glistening in the morning sun on the first day of our trip, I just can not help myself to feel like I have the best job in the world. I have to admit that on the last day in Milan I had a very hard time to keep my eyes open. (Have you ever felt like you could fall asleep standing up?) I was sooooo tired! Only big glasses of Coca Cola got me through that afternoon.

Verona, September 2014. Market near Casa Giulietta.

Juliet’s Balcony. Source wikipedia.

On that last day we first visited the city of Verona too, the home of Romeo and Juliet.

Love!

Some of the kids let some notes behind.

Directly next to the Casa Giuletta (house of Juliet) there was a shop where you could buy heart-shaped pot holders and have your loved one’s name embroidered on.

Old Cornely sewing machine.

It was mesmerizing to see the lady embroider the names! At first it looked like she was doing FMQ with the machine, but she hardly held the fabric. There is a handle underneath the machine which she turns. I do not really understand how it works, but it sure was cool to watch!

The spool of thread was placed underneath the machine. I could not see any bobbins and I suspect that there aren’t any. The thread had to be pulled up from underneath before she started.  The embroidery stitch looked like a chainstitch.

Here is a view from the back of the machine. Above her knee you can see the black handle she keeps turning in the video.

I have tried to find more detailed info on this machine, but could not find a lot except this blog with some more pictures of the same type of machine. Supposedly Singer copied the Cornely design in one of their machines.

I did find the patent online, which contains a picture but does not really show how the fabric gets moved. I suspect that there is a sophisticated set of feed dogs

There is also a computerized version of this machine, as shown on this website which contains a video.

Has anyone of you ever used a machine like this? I am curious to hear about your experience!

Esther

 

14 thoughts on “Juliet’s sewing machine

    • Hi Renee,
      I have been to that same spot in Verona for 7 or 8 times, and never did I think about how that machine worked. Only when you have learned a new skill like FMQ you can see how different this machine actually is! Learning something new every day!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  1. SO glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip and found such a wondrous machine .. will have to ask my in-house engineer to take a look at it. I do not understand it at all.

    • Hi Annie,
      I just received another comment with some links to a video which shows that the metal ring around the needle actually transports the fabric to the desired direction. The ring acts as the feed dogs. Mystery solved!
      Hugs
      Esther

  2. How interesting. I’ve never seen a machine like that before.

    And what a great job! Being able to flit off with curious kids to Italy and see them experience new things for the first time.

    When I was seventeen we went for a month in Europe with four teachers from our school. I was so jealous that I only got to do it once, but that they got paid to do it every few years. I think it was every four – well, as you can imagine, it’s a much larger investment both in time and money to get to Europe from
    Australia.

    • WOW a whole month away from home … with your peers and teachers. I do not know if would still be so positive about the kids after a month with them, ha ha! Just kidding! It really sound like an experience of a lifetime. Personally I like going every year with a new group for just one week. Yes, I have seen the Uffizi museum in Florence for over 10 times now, but it is still a gorgeous museum. Who would complain looking at Botticelli’s masterpieces again and again and again? Oh and those Bronzino paintings… I just want to take those home with me! (We’ll leave the Michelangelo’s and Leonardo’s there… deal?)
      Bye bye
      Esther

  3. You were definitely on the field trip of a lifetime!! The embroidery machine is so interesting!! The learning curve to use it seems like it might be steep too although she made it look effortless!

    • Hi Gina!
      I too thought that this technique must be much more difficult than FMQ. And to imagine sitting behind a desk like that all day stitching up pot holders for clients… They must suffer from carpel tunnel syndrom on their right hand that turns the crank underneath. Glad that that is not my job!🙂
      We finally figured out how it works: the foot surrounding the needle acts as feed dogs! Weird, right?
      Have a wonderful week,
      Esther

    • Oh Doreen, the first two clips show perfectly how the whole thing works! The round foot around the needle moves the fabric as it pushes and pulls the fabric in the direction the handler indicates with the handle underneath. The foot acts as the feed dogs! Never thought of that!!!
      What an incredible technique.
      And here I was looking for a written explanation of how the machine worked… I just should have looked for videos!
      Thanks so much for solving this mystery!!!
      Esther

Leave a Reply

