Small quilts part 02 – Twins

An colleague of mine who retired a few years ago had twin granddaughters this month. He and his wife are Argentine Tango dancers, just like my parents. They meet up regularly. (For those who have never seen this tango, here and here are some clips. Most tango dancers to don’t dance this vigorously and “wild”. The dancers in the first clip are show dancers.)

So… two more pink quilts for two little girls!

Quilt 1:

I started with squares 12,5 inches and turned them into one large pinwheel block. I trimmed that pinwheel down a bit so I could easily cut in up to create nine new pieces. The pieces were rearranged into this churndash-pinwheel. There is a wonderful video made of this technique by Missouri Star Quilt Company.

Stitched in the ditch with the accufeed walkingfoot of my Janome 7700. FMQ with the regular FMQ foot.

Glorious soft flannel on the back with a hand written label.

(Who knows where I left my printed labels??? I can’t find them anymore…anyone wnats to help me clean up my sewing room?)

I used a ruler with circles cut into it for the stems of the flowers. That ruler is not a quilting ruler, but I guess it was for card making. It is one of those rulers you use a small knife with.

I used a longarm quilting ruler for the arcs in the triangles with the special ruler toe. Using the long arm quilting rulers is getting easier with each try.🙂

Quilt 2:

This is the other quilt. The binding was not on yet when I tookthis picture.

I also started with squares 12,5 inches which were subcut into small HST. I did not trim anything. The star block ended up being almost the same size as the churn dash from the first quilt.

The border with feathers was done freehand completely.

Both quilts were wrapped like this and brought to the grandparents (opa and oma)!

Have a nice weekend!
Esther

p.s. linking up with Finish it Up Friday!

16 thoughts on “Small quilts part 02 – Twins

  1. I love that both quilts compliment one another so well with the same fabrics and quilting style, but are distinctly a little bit different, too. I hope they are as well loved as the energy you put into creating them!

  2. They both look so “scrumptious”, again your colors make me think of sherbert (framboise?). I also appreciate the fact that they are diffirent; it will be fun to find out how each of the quilts gravitate towards the babies (or the other way around).

  3. Your quilting is gorgeous……..feathers!!!!…..definitely ME!!!!!! The colors, pattern and quilting is just the perfect combo for these little ones. You did an awesome job!!!

  4. Pingback: Small quilts part 03 | ipatchandquilt

Leave a Reply

