ChristMESS

From the beginning of this year I have been a member of the facebookgroup Declutter 365. We get daily tasks to tackle certain areas of our house. Until now we have been cleaning out the kitchen: silver ware, junk drawers etc. Some jobs really only take 5 minutes and others a bit more. It really depends on how much you need to declutter. I have to admit that giving myself these little jobs is going much better than expected. My kitchen is CLUTTERFREE … and it seems to be spreading around the house! LOL! My livingroom, the diningroom… I am really making an effort to keep things were they belong, putting things in cupboards, drawers and boxes.

Except for the sewing room.

Yep!

It is hard.

Really hard!

Especially when you run into a quilter’s Christmas stash in a flea market.

What was I to do? Walk away?

NO, of course not… I bought just about everything on the table!

So, now I have an 18 inches high pile of fabric to store SOMEWHERE in that already FULL room.

OOPS!

I should have known that being a serious quilter for two years would have an impact on my house.

There is yardage I can use for Christmas stockings.

There is lots of craft fabric, coarser than quilting cotton, but still cute. I have come up for a plan for this already! A poinsetta quilt!

About a quarter of the large pile is taken up with real quilting cotton. The prints are so much crisper and the fabric is really smoother and thinner.

Some fabrics are actually scraps, small bits and pieces, others are almost yardage.

There are some panels too.

I have a PLAN!

(…besides decluttering and cleaning the sewing room)

PLAN:

I have seen this wonderful plan for a Christmas quilt, poinsettas made from drunkard’s path blocks. Last week I just admired it, but now I have the fabric for it!

I have tried curves in a quilt in 2012, but never since. This is the old quilt from 2012. I managed to get the curved right, but it took a real long time.

I would like to try again, with more experience in quilting and a GLUESTICK! I am really exited to work with a drunkard’s path blocks.

QUESTION: does it matter if you draw the templates (paper, cardboard) or use plastic ones to cut around? I don’t think I know a quilter with a die cutter, so I will have to cut the fabric by hand. I plan to starch the fabric “to death” before cutting.

GIVEAWAY!

I have already pulled the red and green fabrics  from my new and old stash. That leaves me with a lot of other Christmas fabrics. Okay, some will be stockings next year, I think. That will not make a huge dent in the 18 inches high pile, so I am also willing to send you some of these fabrics. I will send you the fabrics FOR FREE.  I am not asking you for anything back, but I would NOT SAY NO to receiving some little scraps for my red and green poinsetta quilt!  ;-)Consider this give-away my way of saying thank you to all of you followers for being such kind, lovely and fabulous people! I have had a blast these last two years! (Yep, blogaversary today!)Let me know which of the fabrics you would like. First-come, first-served!

All fabric have been given away and are on it way to new homes all over the world!

Esther

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “ChristMESS

  1. Wow – I want to go to the flea market you went to!! I’m sure I could find some reds and greens for your Christmas quilt. Send me your mailing address!

  2. Hoi Esther,

    Als je nr. 13 en 14 nog hebt, zou ik deze graag willen hebben voor een klant. Zij is dol op hortensias en deze heb ik niet. Kun je vanmiddag rood in de winkel uitzoeken voor je project als dank.

    Gr. Rita

    ipatchandquilt schreef op 16.01.2015 21:20: > ipatchandquilt posted: “From the beginning of this year I have been a > member of the facebookgroup Declutter 365. We get daily tasks to > tackle certain areas of our house. Until now we have been cleaning out > the kitchen: silver ware, junk drawers etc. Some jobs really only take > 5 ” > >

    • Hoi Rita,
      Die stof is helaas al weg. Die ging als eerste! Iedereen wil die hebben, ha ha! Ik ben blij dat de stof naar een nieuw huis gaat, want het niet een stofje die ik zelf zou uitzoeken.🙂
      Tot straks,
      Esther

  3. How sweet and so kind

    If these are available I’d love to help you out.
    5,6,11,13,14.
    The first 3are Christmas theme and the latter two floral hydrangea prints.
    Thank you and happy clearing out.

  4. Pingback: Honey for Christmas | ipatchandquilt

Leave a Reply

