BLOCK-aliscious #5

Some more pretty blocks to share with you all!

As I said in my previous post in this series I intend to show you the finished block and where possible a mosaic picture of the options I tried before deciding on a particular lay out.

Somewhere in 2012 I bought thangle papers to create HSTs in a row. I just started quilting and had no knowledge on all the different ways to make HST’s. Since then I have tried many of these techniques, but have found the thangles to be a sure fit for this Block-aliscious series. It feels good finally using them. (I am not being compensated in any way to write about the thangles. This is my opinion!)

And two more blocks with their mosiac shots!

And a shot of some of the blocks together. Some I might redo, the contrast is just not strongĀ  enough.

Have a lovely sunny weekend!

Esther

p.s. Linking up with:

My Quilt Infatuation‘s Needle and Thread Thursday

Confessions of a Fabric Addict‘s Can I get a Whoop Whoop?

– Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish it Up Friday

10 thoughts on “BLOCK-aliscious #5

  1. How creative and connected to the time of the year when spring is just around the corner. The green/yellow/orange work made me think of daffodils. Am interested in the word thangles .. is it an abreviation of “the triangles?

    • Hi Annie,
      I think so. It is the name of the product. It is a piece of paper with lines drawn on it. You place two strips two strips of fabric on it and sew through the lines. The last thing to do is cut them apart, press them and then you have Half Square Triangle blocks. No fiddling with the stretchy fabric (cut on the bias), just lots of paper to rip of the fabric! All of the HST blocks are the same size and do not need to be trimmed. It is a time saver.
      Hugs and kisses!
      Esther

    • Nope, you got me there!
      I have a plan for these blocks, but nothing definite yet. I think I will add two borders around each, as(ARGGGG) the blocks are not all the same size. I think I have worn out, if that is even possible, my quarter inch foot. It is bent and now all of the seams are a tad larger than they should be. Some blocks are a quarter inch smaller than the older ones. We will see if my plan works out!
      Bye
      Esther

      • I did that some time ago, and now I use a regular sewing foot, which I have marked to show a quarter inch seam. It ‘seams’ to work just fine! Looking forward to seeing what you have in mind for all these lovelies.

  2. I actually like the subtlety of the contrast in all your blocks together. It gives your layout an overall softness that stronger contrast wouldn’t have.

  3. These are all such wonderful fabrics, you are sure to make them into something spectacular. HSTs are so versatile, it’s not surprising they’re one of the basics of patchwork.

Leave a Reply

