Beetles and spiders and lizards, oh my!

One little boy, or maybe a little girl, is going to love this quilt!

There are shiny bugs, colorful lizards, magical dragon flies, wiggly earth worms and some spiders…. yes spiders!

All of these fabrics were gifted to me by a quilter who was packing up house. We had more than enough of them to create this charity quilt for a children’s home in Mexico City. There are several quilts in the works. This is first one to be finished!

This quilt is the first in a set of charity quilts that my students and I are making after school. One girl who knew how to operate the sewing machine put all the four patches together. Another fused the batting with the hot iron. In the meanwhile I quilted the blocks with some lovely FMQ.

Most of the FMQ can be better seen form the back:

I went for some wiggly lines as if an animal was burrowing into the ground, a trail of an ant or the shape of the animal (abstracted).

I even came up with this spiral variation: a slug!

We made 20 blocks which needed to be attached with strips. I took all of the blocks home for the two week break.

Prior strips:

Now attached with green strips, as seen from the back:

And now from the front:

ALL DONE!

Stats:

– Fabrics: donated (dark green and all of the animal fabrics) and some of mine (red)

– Batting: Fusible Hobbs

– Threads: donated Polygon Madeira no 40 col 1629, a very light lilac. Worked really well! Looks like a silver trail on the fabric.

– size: about 48″ x 60″

– attaching the green strips and binding took about 4 hours.

I hope to be able to show the the second quilt by the end of next week!

Esther

p.s. linking up with:

– Monday Makers at ayliN-Nilya

– Freemotion Mavericks at Lizzy Lenard Vintage Sewing 

– Finish it Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts

19 thoughts on “Beetles and spiders and lizards, oh my!

  1. you’re right! some boy or girl is going to love this quilt! gorgeous colours, so many creepy crawlies to count (instead of sheep lol) and it’s reversible too!

    • YES, some kid will love that idea!!! Maybe that will help the child to have this quilt just for himself / herself. Not all kids like the critters!
      Bye bye
      Esther

    • Yes you are right! It looks like it is going to walk away from the quilt! The fabrics are a great mix of very realistic to cartoon animals!
      Have lovely week!
      Esther

  2. First reaction: supercalifragilistic… etc.
    Second thought: .. it would make such a beautiful wall decoration in a children’s hospital or children’s orphanage .. the animals and colors are so uplifting.

    • Yes I do too! I hope to be able to get 4 quilts out by the middel of July. The first one is now finished, number 2 and 3 are waiting for the connecting strips and binding. The last one is still a W.I.P., about half of those blocks are quilted. The other half has not been created yet. Maybe we will be able to get more quilt out, but I am not putting any pressure on myself. There is a lot to do these last weeks of this school year.
      It is a wonderful activity to so with my students.
      Hugs
      Esther

    • Goodmorning Beth,
      There is a group of about 8 to 10 kids helping me. The youngest are 13 and the oldest is 18. They all really love working on the quilts. I hope to WOW them on Monday when I bring this quilt to school to show them.
      Bye bye
      Esther

  3. I would love some info about the children’s home you made this for. We’re headed to the DF pretty soon, and would love to have somewhere to take charity quilts to. Do you live there?

    • Hello Linda!
      I personally don’t have any more information on the children’s home. Alison from the blog Little Island Quilting has set up the quilt drive. She might be able to help you with that. I live in the Netherlands in Europe. Our quilts will probably be sent to an employee of the charity devision of our national airline who’ll take the quilts to Mexico City, like before.
      I hope you can find a way to help the charity too!
      Thank you!
      Esther

  4. I love your garden slug! That’s really a cute variation on the pattern and so appropriate for this quilt. It is nice to see charity quilts made with such love and attention.

    • Thank you very much! I loved working on this quilt with my students.
      The garden slug made me laugh too. Wgen I showed the quilt to my family, my sister spotted the slugs immediately!
      Have a lovely weekend!
      Esther

  5. Hello Esther,

    What a fantastic quilt, and a great project for your students. I love the snail FMQ design. Have you ever seen the pattern left by a slug or snail when it crawls over dirty glass? I don’t mean the slime, I mean a really interesting pattern caused by the contractions as it crawls.

    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks!

    Love, Muv

Leave a Reply

