Blogger Quilt Festival – Home Machine quilted

Hello again!
I have something new to show you! Well actually, it is old and new! I started this project over a year ago and only found the time to finish it now! My parent’s commissioned two orange pillows for their living room. The first was finished quickly, but the second one lingered around… Until now!

This blogpost is also my entry for the Bloggers Quilt festival.

The front of the pillow was paper pieced and then quilted with different orange threads. The pattern was inspired by a quilt drawing I saw online somewhere.

Here are the detail shots with info on the FMQ patterns I have used.

My own pattern “Rambling Rose”

Something like “Swirling Petals”, by Leah Day.

Pattern based on theme “Divide and Conquer”, by Martha of  Quilt to the Edge

“Flowing leaves” by Leah Day.

“Moon Feathers”, by Leah Day.

“Paisley Division”, by Leah Day.

“McTavishing” by Karen McTavish.

The back of the pillow was to be a terracotta solid. Not wanting to leave the back undecorated I turned to my quilt books. One of the most inspirational was the book Quilt Savvy- Machine Quilting Guidebook by Diane Gaudynski. Her work is so beautiful and luscious! ( I have worked on similar design from her book before. Have a look at this blogpost!)

I used some of her design elements to create a floral scroll.

I used a Frixion pen to draw the important lines. (Yes, I did test this pen out on the fabric. Sometimes is does leave a white line on the fabric after hitting it with the iron, so beware!)

I started with a light orange thread and echoed around it with a darker terracotta thread.

The echo lines are about 1/8 inch apart.

I adore the dense quilting in this project!

Some of you may recognize these pictures, because I have been sharing them on Instagram. (@ipatchandquilt)

These next two parts were to become the pillow back.

See?!

There is a hidden zipper in the middle.

And here is the front again!

This pillow is lovely from both sides!!!

I patch and quilt all my quilts on a Janome 7700 which has a large harp space of 11 inches. I use all kinds of threads, but mostly polyester by Gutermann, Auripoly and Wonderfil. The batting is by Moda or Hobbs, 80% cotton 20% polyester.

In October 2014 I participated for the first time in the BQF and I had a blast! My mini paint tube quilt even won in its category.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of you who visited my blog then and even voted for my quilt back in October! Thank you!

Please take a look at all of the entries for the LATEST  Bloggers Quilt Festival. On May 22-29 you can vote for your favorites! There are already some gorgeous quilts entered in the Home Machine Quilted Category.

I have entered another quilted pillow in the Blogger Quilt Festival, this time in the Mini category. It is a cute and bright flower pillow!

I hope you will be inspired by all the lovely quilts in this year’s festival!

Esther

p.s. I am also linking up with Finish it Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts and Can I get a Whoop Whoop  at Confessions of a Fabric Addict

35 thoughts on “Blogger Quilt Festival – Home Machine quilted

  1. Beautiful! I’ll never get that accomplished in a million years, so I truly admire the hard work and practice that goes into such an amazing result.

  2. Absolutely stunning .. all of your projects are so special.
    The colors of the orange pillow really “pop”. I would not know which side to display there either. Might have to depend on who is enjoying it.

    • Yes, the pillow could be used on both sides depending on the mood you’re in. It was a lovely project to work on, even though I wish I had finished it earlier.
      Hugs
      Esther

  3. Gorgeous! I am envious of your FMQ skills. That little paint tube quilt is adorable – I’m not surprised you won with it.

  4. Wow! This pillow is spectacular front and back! What side to chose to display. . . flip it daily. . . maybe every couple of hours! Your quilting is stunning!

    • Goodmorning Marly!
      I normally don’t do 1/8 inch echos, really! This project just needed it! It was a great exercice in accuracy. I am also glad it’s DONE!
      LOL
      Esther

    • Hello Sarah!
      What a lovely comment! Thank you!
      There are so many beautiful quilts in the Bloggers Quilt Festival this Spring. I am very impressed and inspired by all of them.
      Have a lovely week!
      Esther

  5. I just popped over to see what you had been up to for the F2F swap and found this gorgeous pillow. Your quilting is wonderful and I really love the colours you’ve used. Avis x

  6. What a fantastic cushion cover. All those different quilting designs are beautifully done and look wonderful together. The back is as gorgeous as the front! Lovely work indeed.

Leave a Reply

