Blogger Quilt Festival – Mini

This is my entry post for the Blogger Quilt Festival  for the Mini Category.

In February I created a flower pillow that I wanted to share with you today.

As the pillow is about 20 inches across I am entering it in the mini category. If it was square it would be about 80 inches around.

It is a mixture of clever patchwork and lovely free motion quilting (FMQ)

The front and back are quilted differently.

For the straight lines and arches I used longarm rulers. To be able to quilt with the rulers you do need a special ruler toe. You can get more information on using longarm rulers on a domestic sewing machine (I did everything on a Janome 7700) on this wonderful blog.

I wrote a tutorial so you could create your own flower or star pillow. You could even make a  tabletopper out of it! I hope you enjoy the tutorial!

In October 2014 I participated for the first time in the BQF and I had a blast! My mini paint tube quilt even won in its category.

I want to take this opportunity to thank all of you who visited my blog then and even voted for my quilt back in October! Thank you!

Please take a look at all of the entries for the LATEST  Bloggers Quilt Festival. On May 22-29 you can vote for your favorites! There are already some gorgeous quilts entered in the Mini category.

I will be entering another quilted pillow in the Blogger Quilt Festival, this time in the Home Machine Quilted category.

I hope you will be inspired by all the lovely quilts in this year’s festival!

Esther

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Blogger Quilt Festival – Mini

  1. Wow, Esther, you really have an absolutely gorgeous creation! Great work–Very impressive!!! Hope you win!!!!!!!

    • It was kind of scary to use such a contrasting colour. I especially like the thread on the grey fabric. It has the same colour value as the grey and I love that effect. I will be trying that out again.
      Bye bye
      Esther

  2. I really love the quilting on this pillow. I am impressed with the fact that you have a reversible pillow and the piecing is so perfect. The fact that it ws quilted on a domestic machine really is impressive.

    • Goodmorning!
      Thank you for you lovely comment!!!
      The piecing was made easy because of the nesting seams. The points are this sharp because the fabric was starched before cutting and only sewing up to the seams. I show this in the tutorial! If you wanted, you could even use a gluestick to adhere the pieces before sewing. That has helped me a lot with paper piecing, although the pillow is patched and not paper pieced!
      Bye bye,
      Esther

  3. What a fun and unique pillow project…neat colors and the different shape and the superb quilting…such a great package! I DO remember those darling paint tubes too!!! BQF is such fun, isn’t it?!

    • Hello Sarah!
      I adore looking at all those wonderful and different projects that are being entered in the BQF!
      Thank you for your fantastic comment. It warms my heart!
      Esther

    • Goodmorning Kamila!
      Thank you! I really loved working on this design. It started out with a pattern I was given. After creating that specific round pillow, I thought that I could do it differenty. That’s how I came up with the tutorial!
      Have a great Monday,
      Esther

  4. Hi Esther! I remember adoring your pillow the first time I saw it – it is super!
    Your mini paint tube quilt is so awesome too and it is no surprise that it won! Have a great time at the BQF!

Leave a Reply

