Workshop

Last weekend I had the privilege to teach 6 ladies how to paper piece and turn their project into a zipper pouch. Knowing what I know now, that is very ambitious!

I had precut all the ladies would need: strips of fabric, batting, and interior fabrics.

The puzzles of all the pieces for he pattern took a while to form!

The pattern of the bow is one of my own. It is called “Take a Bow -D”  and is now on SALE on Craftsy.

We turned the paper pieced square into a rectangle by adding strips to the left and right sides. Added batting and turned it into zipper pouches!

It took a while but we all got there! At the end of the class there were 6 beautiful pouches! As they were all the same, I will only show you my version of the pouch.

We added a charm as a zipper pull. Some chose the bow charm, others the  scissors!

I have never had such a interesting group of ladies in my workshop! They worked very hard to finish their project!

( Thank you ladies for letting me teach you! )

Quilt stats:

Technique: foundation paper piecing “Take a Bow” and zipper pouch construction.

Size: Bow block 8×8″. Added 2 inch strips to the side. Cut those down to end up with a 8×10″ rectangle. Back and interior pieces also cut to 8×10″

Charm: bought online in the Dutch webshop Artasja.

Fabrics: grey background by Kaffe Fassett, pink dot: “Dottie” by Moda, pink and violet solids by Moda. Fabric bought in local quilt shop Quilt-patchwork.

I have many other lovely projects to show you this week!

Hope to see you soon!

Esther

6 thoughts on “Workshop

  1. Lovely fabric choices – that Kaffe Fassett is one of my favourites! My best paper piecing tool is my little LED light box, it makes life so much easier…

  2. Seems like a fun project to get them started on paper piecing. It is always nice to take home something completed after a workshop. How do you attach the charm to the zipper pull?

    • Hi Emmely,
      I ordered very small rings used for jewelry. It was really hard to get the ring on the charm and then onto the zip. I think there must be an easier way to get it done. I will have to ask a jewelry designer.
      Bye
      Esther

Leave a Reply

