Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Home Machine Quilted

Yay, it is time again to participate in the Blogger’s Quilt festival!

This post in my entry in the category Home Machine Quilted. (link)

This is an large lap quilt that would fit a single bed. I completely smothered the churn dashes in free motion quilting.

.

The quilting and colored threads are better seen from the back:

 

Some of my favorite details:

The lighting makes the backing fabric look different in these pictures.

If you are interesting in seeing how the quilt was created and learn more about how I designed the freemotion quilting patterns, please go back to this blogpost.

I pieced and quilted this quilt on my Janome 7700. The threads I used are from different companies: Aurifil, Wonderfil, guterman, Madeira polyneon. The batting is a 100 % cotton by Moda. The fabric from the top are quilting cottons mixed with some vintage fabric.

I wish everybody a lovely Festival. Have a look at all those pretty quilts and stunning showstoppers! You can see more quilts from the Home Machine Quilted category here.

Actually, that is exactly what I am going to do now… drooling over all the pretty quilts!

Bye bye

Esther

 

27 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Home Machine Quilted

  1. Gorgeous!!! I see some leafy feathers!!!! Those, combined with vine swirls, have risen to the top of my ‘fave’ list. Beautifully done and I just love “smothered”!!!!!!!! LOL!

    • Hello Rosa!
      What a lovely thing to hear!!! This quilt was a true labour of love. Even though I would like to get many votes, that is not the main reason to participate. I love the quilting community online. This is how I learned to quilt and I want to pass it on to others. Participting in Festivals like this is a great way to be inspired and inspire others.
      Have lovely day!
      Esther

    • Thank you very much Shannon. The colors are really like an autumnal forest, aren’t they? In quilting I normally use much lighter and brighter colors, but this project was made with a certain person in mind. I was very glad that the quilts was received with much gratitude.
      Have a lovely day!
      Esther

    • Hello Renee, yes it does! The dark fabrics on the front really made the quilting disappear, especially on the floral fabric. Luckily all the hard work is visible on the back. YAY!🙂
      Bye bye
      Esther

  2. I love your quilting work here, Esther! I know it’s a lot of extra effort to change the thread colors instead of using a monofilament like a lot of people do. Beautiful quilt for sure. 🙂

    • Hello Lynette!
      I adore working with colored threads… I am a self-confessed thread-aholic… LOL!
      I know that many quilters like the quilting threads to match/blend with all of the fabric, front and back. I selected a backing fabric that matched my budget more than my threads…. but it worked out in the end.
      Bye bye
      Esther

    • Hi Linda,
      Thank you very much for your heartwarming comment. Taking pictures from the front to show the quilting was so difficult. I am glad that the back shows the quilting really well.
      Have a lovely day!
      Esther

Leave a Reply

