Swap and W.I.P.

I am steadily working on finishing the W.I.P.s that are stored around the sewing room. Last time I showed you a 24″ baby quilt made with 4 blue and white blocks. Don’t know how it has happened, but I have more blue fabric to show you!

๐Ÿ™‚

First the three F2F swap blocks for this month. All blocks are 12 inch square. These three blocks have arrived safely at Avis’s house in the UK. ( her blog: Oh Sew Tempting ) She requested bright blues and purples.

22625821384_6f5ce217a6_z_d

As I spied other swap participants working with some lighter blues than I had pulled, I included the lighter background fabric in the first block in the hope my darker blocks would blend with the others.

22958419770_20918f84bd_z_d

Block 2 is a test block for a new design I have in mind. It will be called ‘Chrystal’. Avis had asked for solid fabrics, batiks or small print. Many of fabrics are scraps I was given by another quilter. I love how I can use even the smallest bits.

22860112887_e4ae61d3a8_z_d

This last block , also paper pieced as the other two, is also a test block for a new pattern. This will become ‘Take Flight’  which I hope to make available somewhere in the beginning of 2016.

This weekend I was also able to finally use a quilt top that I made in January 2014… Almost two years ago. Yikes, why does time go so fast?

Anyway, This top was backed with a piece of gifted navy blue fleece that matched and fitted perfectly. I did not free motion it but used a decorative stitch on my Janome 77o0.(stitch 19)  It is a wavy stitch and I made it as large and wide as my machine would let me. It went together pretty quickly.

Here is one of the original pictures showing , however blurry and yellowed, some of the fabrics I used. Amy Butler, Ty Pennington and some mystery scraps.

11757225983_235ed1e3b6_z_d1

Bound with more Amy Butler.

23254897915_6353c96a51_z_d

And the dark navy on the back. Can you see the wavy stitch?

22627791833_c7ed81e315_z_d1

This last quit was gifted to somebody undergoing serious medical treatment. Weird thing is that back in 2014 when I put this top together, I had meant this to go to the same person (who was fine back then) … but I never got round to finishing it. I am glad I was able to give it now.

Lots of hugs,

Esther

P.s. Linking up with Let’s be Social at Sew Fresh Quilts.

16 thoughts on “Swap and W.I.P.

    • Hello Denise!
      Thank you! I love this block too? I am making another one with a different lay out. It turns out that the unit create so many different looks.
      See you soon!
      Esther

  1. Great F2F blocks, lovely rich colours – let me know when you’re ready to start testing, I’ll be first in line! It’s amazing how good it feels to get old jobs finished and given, isn’t it?

    • Yes it was a real challenge. Even though I have lots of fabric, I did not have a lot of bright blue. I really did my best finding it at the quilt show in Maastricht. Most blues were more navy or light blues. Luckily I found at least one piece I could use.
      Can’t wait to see your blocks!
      Hugs
      Esther

  2. Avis will be delighted I’m sure. They look as if they will blend perfectly with the others I’ve seen. I love the fleece backed quilt too and it will be lovely and cosy and a welcome gift for somebody who needs some comforting.

    • Goodevening Lynn!
      Yes Avis was really happy with them. I so enjoy putting the block together. It has rekindled my love for designing blocks. I am so happy with that!
      Hugs
      Esther

  3. I love your two test blocks!! Can’t wait for the patterns to become available. I follow you via bloglovin and on craftsy so hopefully I won’t miss them.

    • Hello Kathleen!
      Thank you for your kind words. The testers are already hard at work for the Venice block. I hope to be able to release it before Christmas. The other pattern ‘Take flight’ will be written during the Christmas holiday. I hope that that one will be available around the end of January.
      Have a lovely day!
      Esther

  4. I just love the “crystal” pattern; it somehow makes me think of “mobiles”, but cannot remember the names of several artiss.
    Will look that up and get back to you.

    • Yes is does like a mobile. Do you mean the artist Alexander Calder? He has all kind of lovely organic shapes that float on these long pieces of metal wire. Love his work.
      Hugs
      Esther

Leave a Reply

