Small gifts.

A while ago I purchased a Fat Quarter bundle of Moda’s ” A is for.” The line has a school-feel and that was what attracted me to it. I had saved it for a unknown future project. You know, those projects you tell yourself you will have so you can just buy the fabric?

Finally the perfect opportunity arose to use the bundle!

A dear friend helped me out with some problems with shipping my fabrics. I hadn’t been able to show my gratitude so I wanted to make her something.

She is a primary school teacher who specializes in reading.

What would be better than fabrics with letters on it?

The pillow is about 14 inch square and the back fabric looks like a crayon drawing. I think I found that in a market or something.

I added a large pouch.

Do you know your ABC’s?

C is for cute cuddly cat!

I used a 12 inch zipper so you can image this pouch will hold A LOT OF STUFF any teacher gathers in their classroom.

Both of these are now in her classroom!

I was glad to be able to add some more color to her already awesome room!

Another project I wanted to share with you today is another baby quilt… yes another baby quilt!

(Where do all these babies come from?🙂 )

I found these fabrics in an online quiltshop I check out regularly (The Netherlands, Europe). These fabrics were only 8 euros per meter. A real steal!!!

Just last week I heard the baby girl had arrived already, so some late night speed sewing insued. I decided not to FMQ this quilt but use a regular decorative stitch from my Janome 7700. It is a large wavy stitch (number 19) that I made as large and wide as possible. It came together really quickly!!!

Binding with the grey fabric from the same line. I did add a strong zig zag on the binding to give it some strength for heavy use.

I have more of this fabric and I foresee some more baby quilts with these fabrics.

Do you have any great tips for European quilt shops?

Have a lovely day!

Esther

p.s. Linking up with:

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Small gifts.

  1. You really have got a lot of sewing on your plate right now! Sometimes deadlines can be really good for getting you motivated and working fast, can’t they? Gorgeous cushion and pouch, I bet she was delighted. And the baby quilt fabrics are so pretty, not too bright and ‘girly’, just right. I particularly like the one with swirls of leaves.

    • Hi Kate,
      Not all of these projects are from last week. The teacher gifts were finished before Christmas and I hadn’t had the time to write about them yet. I was glad to be able to finish the F2F blocks for Pat. Now I am working on blocks that were donated with the rest of the fabric. Only 10 more logcabin blocks to go for it to be a charity quilt! YAY!
      Hugs
      Esther

  2. What fun gifts for your teacher friend! Cute, cute, cute! And a lovely little baby quilt. Those specialty stitches can be very helpful at times. The stitch you used for quilting is one I wish my machine had. If only I could trade one I never use!

    • The stitch is actually a bit weird. The stitches in the corners are very small and the straight element of the wavy line has longer stitches. I wish all the stiches were even, but HEY … it is finished!!!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  3. The teacher gifts are beautiful and have a very airy look about them; fresh, crisp and light. The baby girl quilt is very unique, not “too girly”. All recipients should be very happy.

  4. The gifts for your teacher friend were perfect (Or should I say,PURRfect😉 and your little baby quilt is so sweet! The backing fabric is especially fabulous. Well done!

Leave a Reply

