FMQ samples – part 6 – tutorial TWIST

Let’s twist!

This is one of my favorite grid patterns out there. I have called it TWIST. I have seen it many times on people’s quilts and I am always struck by the energy it brings to the patchwork.

Even though it looks difficult, it is relatively easy to do.

33852546076_b49a775f96_z_d

The pattern is stitched out row by row.

34112161181_30710d93db_z_d

You can go in a second time to echo the twist shape.

34201746316_2c1c111c80_z_d

When you are using a larger grid you can of course add more echoes. (In the samples with the black fabric, I used a 2 inch grid instead of a 1 inch grid.)

33431806703_79b4eda3eb_z_d

When you want more decoration it is important to think about the stitch path. For instance in this sample I could stitch out all the extra lines that are positioned along the horizontal lines (row by row). Then I could go back in to follow the vertical lines (column by column).

Technically you could stitch out the extra lines while you are also stitching the pattern itself. If you want to do this, you will want to create an uneven number of lines so you can progress to the next part of the pattern. If this doesn’t make sense to you yet, please stick to stitching out the TWIST pattern first and go back in to add the flourishes. The next drawing shows just that!

33401079014_60d639ff52_z_d

In the drawing above I stayed within each grid with the echoed lines. You don’t have to of course. How about this next idea? I will have to stitch it out one day.

34111948431_ca3d578e73_z_d

I had some fun with this next idea. After stitching out the TWIST pattern I went back in to add some curls.

34201744676_8cafa4743e_z_d33401080194_b2bd310d39_z_d

It is a really busy pattern and will not suits every quilt. It reminds me of a dance; twisting and twirling!

My next blog post will be on the same TWIST pattern, but with more complicated flourishes.

Bye bye

Esther

 

7 thoughts on “FMQ samples – part 6 – tutorial TWIST

  1. I love that first black sample, it reminds me of flow diagrams in wind tunnels, showing how shapes affect air flow. There’s also a tiny bit of M.C. Escher bird repeat pattern in the negative shapes. Great design!

    • Funny that you would say that… I have been playing with Escher-like shapes. (tessellations). Quilting is full of them! More about this in a future blogpost.
      Hugs
      ESther

    • You are so welcome, June. I try to stitch out a pattern each day, or at least prepare one for stitching another day. So far, I have been able to keep this up for almost a month. I hope to keep going at least two more months. So, more patterns are on the way!
      Bye bye
      Esther

  2. I like them all and wonder about making them on larger square bases – if that makes it less busy-looking.

Leave a Reply

