Any and all!

My oldest friend just had her first baby. The little boy is so incredible wanted, I can’t even tell you! When I asked the mother about what colors she would like for a baby quilt, she told me “any and all color!”. I emptied my precious fabric scraps bin and put several economy blocks together and added lots of monochrome blocks in “any and all colors”.

35382237375_4b35cef626_z_d

Every bit of fabric that I could fussy cut was pulled from my stash… I thought I had a large stash, but it mostly consist of so-called blenders; small scale patterns.

35252728991_877e9dcc63_z_d

My favorite economy blocks are the ones with the ladybugs, the frog and the bunnies.

35215798312_a08b59dd56_z_d

34572811073_ce7a91999f_z_d

34539611514_bbd405586d_z_d

Yes, there is pink in this baby boy’s quilt… well the mother said ANY and ALL colors, right?!

34539410054_0900ebf667_z_d

I have to admit, I did find it hard to go completely multi color. Most of the time I create with a constrained color palette. Luckily when I added a dark blue border, the quilt looked better to me.

34539571474_6aa1c56d52_z_d

I quilted a fun swirl-hook pattern which let me dodge the bits of the block where there were many seams. If you look closely you can see that I have used some tiny pieces of fabric here and there.

35253475111_96b496e533_z_d

34539609254_a945a3cc38_z_d35215793862_054fdeb556_z_d

A while back, when I found out the baby was on his way, I stored several cute backing fabrics away. Luckily the one with the pandas really looked best with the colors on the front.

35253478741_3b3fe6cf73_z_d

34572811593_3237e60d47_z_d

I added a stripy multi color binding which was kind of waiting for a project like this. I like how it pulls the whole thing together.

34572816583_325bfb62ee_z_d

I also created two bibs for the lovely baby boy. You can never have enough of those, right? I put a thin terry cloth on the back.

34572810853_335fe90cfc_k_d

Can’t wait until I can hug the precious baby boy!

Hugs

Esther

 

p.s. I am linking up with:

– Confessions of a Fabric Addict for ‘Can I get a Whoop Whoop?’

– My Quilt Infatuation for ‘Needle and Thread Thursday‘.

– Crazy Mom Quilts for ‘Finish it Up Friday‘.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Any and all!

  1. What lovely presents for your cherished friend and baby. Your planning for this quilt really shows. It looks like a child’s puzzle with the questions:
    How many animals can you find and can you name them?
    Or a “find the animals in the quilt” theme. Am sure the recipients will be smitten.

    • The more I look at this quilt, the more I like it. This type of quilt is called an ‘I-Spy’ quilt, so you are absolutely right about how it will be used!
      Lots of hugs
      Esther

  2. that’s an absolutely beautiful quilt, Esther. The Mum-to-be was right to ask for “any and all” . . . a true rainbow of fun.

  3. LOVE love love this quilt! You pulled together so many awesome fabrics and how wonderful that you could use your scraps. I bet with every scrap you pulled out you remembered when you used it the first time! Reminds me of an old Harry Chapin song, “Flowers are Red” where “there are so many colors in a rainbow…and I use every one”! The hook swirls are prefect too. I am working on a quilt that has a lot of seams and will be trying to use your idea to quilt with the same pattern. Oh that I was brave enough to tackle a scrap quilt! Thank you for the post – so wonderful!

    • Hello barbara! I think I would call this baby quilt my first ever scrappy project. I am glad that I could use the little pieces of fabric I had. Some of these were samples I got when I ordered from a fabric store.
      The hook-swirl is one of my favorites freemotion designs. If you haven’t tried it before, get some practice done on paper. It is a bit of a counter-intuitive pattern.
      Have fun!
      Esther

  4. I had a lot of fun myself looking for animals amongst all the prints! This is a wonderful scrappy quilt, full of brilliant colour and beautifully arranged. The blue border and binding pull it all together perfectly. Bravo!

      • The trick is to have the widest possible range of colours and patterns; if you try and control things too much it can be a bit… dull. I occasionally buy fat quarters of pretty fabric I know I won’t use for projects, but which I know will enliven scrappy projects.

  5. That is a great quilt! Love the bibs, and no, you can never have too many of those. What a lucky baby!

  6. The panda fabric is so cute! I made so many bibs for my youngest, your right there’s never enough!

  7. A bit out of your comfort zone but what a lovely, cheerful quilt – perfect for a baby. I love the blue border and the sneak peak of the backing.

Leave a Reply

