Free Motion Quilting – Kelp

Have you ever heard of a Kelp forest? It is the name of an underwater area that is densely populated by kelp. It covers most of our oceans’ coastlines. Mysterious, beautiful and also very important for the Earth’s ecosystem.

And kelp makes a great inspiration for Free Motion Quilting designs. Flowy and bendy so you can cover an entire area, soft and curvy for fabulous texture, and just two different design elements to worry about.

Start with a curvy (gentle serpentine) vertical line. That line curves back down with a series of feather / teardrop shapes. The next piece of kelp is then positioned next to the curvy vertical line. Keep the lines at an equal distance from each other. You decide how tall each piece of kelp is. You can watch the video I have created of this pattern on YouTube.

I can imagine this pattern on a beach bag or a Mermaid inspired quilt project.

Within a week I will let you know about a fabulous opportunity for you to have a personal quilting retreat with all FREE ONLINE classes on patchwork and free motion quilting. Two exciting quilting summits are happening back to back this month and I have created classes for both of them. And yes really, the classes are free!

Are you a bit curious about my next week’s free motion quilting pattern? I can already share you that it will be a grid-based pattern and it is called ‘Chocolate’. 

How do you like your chocolate?

Hugs

Esther

P.S.

Did you skip to the end? Here the info you need:

  • This Kelp design was the second pattern I released in the series of weekly Free Motion Quilting patterns. There will be new pattern each week, and some weeks I will have 2!
  • Videos will be shared on YouTube and Instagram.
  • Go sign up for my email list and you will get all the direct links to your inbox.
  • Within a week I will give you links to sign up for 2 online quilting summits that are completely free to attend!

One thought on “Free Motion Quilting – Kelp

Leave a comment