Free Motion Quilting – Bamboo

Do you have exotic plants in your garden? 

In my street a lot of neighbors have lovely Japanse maple trees and bushes in their gardens. The maples really stand out beautifully against the white painted modern houses. There are even a few neighbors who have a type of bamboo that doesn’t spread. 

Today, September 18th, bamboo is celebrated on a global level to spread awareness on its conservation. Let’s enjoy this gorgeous plant in our weird and wonderful quilting corner of the internet too.

This Bamboo pattern is pretty easy to stitch out. The bamboo design can be a bit irregular and the leaves can move wherever you need them too.  It would look fabulous on a bag or quilt, don’t you think? The pattern is not too dense, so your fabric stays soft and squichy. 

Mark out a vertical lines 1 inch apart and use these as a reference for your bamboo stalks. Each stalk is positioned 2 inches apart. If you forget to stitch out an element of the pattern when moving up, you can fix it when you come back down. The longer regular speed video is also available on YouTube

Did you know I have been adding these blogposts to Pinterest too? You can find them from my Pinterest FMQ board, here.

Just making sure that you have had the chance to look at the FREE quilting event that start this Thursday. The Free Motion Quilting Summit hosts 14 different classes purely on free motion quilting spread over two days. The videos are prerecorded so you can watch them when it is convenient for your time zone or personal schedule. You will have free access to the videos for 6 whole days!!! Not only is that a great deal for a free event, but there will be giveaways too! You can sign up for FREE here.

This event has a third day with LIVE components, like interviews. If you want acces to that third day, you will need to buy and All Access Pass.

One of the lesson in this event was created by me, and I can’t wait to hear your thought about its content. Will you let me know?

Hugs

Esther

P.S. The link to the Summit is an affiliated link, meaning I will make a small commission when people decide to buy the All Access Pass. It won’t cost you anything extra!

2 thoughts on “Free Motion Quilting – Bamboo

  1. Dear Esther, I enjoyed your FMQ class on the Quilting Summit. Your explanations were so clear and I was entranced watching you quilt! It looked like you were sewing so slowly—were you or was the video slowed down? The speed of most demonstrations is intimidating to me, so this gave me confidence that I could be successful in creating the patterns. Thank you very much!
    Mary

    • Hello Mary!

      How nice of you to visit my blog and let me know how you experienced the class in the Quilting Summit!

      Yes, this is really the speed I stitch at on my domestic machine (Janome). When I use the longarm, I do go faster, because I have more momentum, the stitch regulator can handle it and I don’t have to reposition my hands every few seconds 😂.
      On social media like FaceBook and Instagram a lot of the videos are sped up. This has to do with the time constraints that are put on the videos (Instagram especially) and very possibly the way people use the social media platforms; quick and easy for our short attention spans.
      YouTube is way more of an educational platform, so you will be more likely to find ‘normal’ speed videos that give quilters an authentic look on what it would actually be like to stitch that pattern out.

      Please enjoy my other videos, there are so many cool and cute ones coming. Normally I have a new pattern a week, but the next couple of weeks there will be 2.

      Have a lovely day
      Esther

Leave a comment