Free Motion Quilting – Bubble Wave

The sound of crashing waves, the salty air, the gentle wind blowing the ruffles of our beach umbrella… It is one of my fondest memories of spending time with my loved ones at the beach.

The movement of the waves has a real calming effect on me. I don’t even have to be at the beach, just looking at videos of the sea will do that for me. I am always thankful when people post beach videos on social media. It takes me back to that wonderful memories even if it is just for a few minutes.

Do you have special memories of the beach?

This pattern takes some practice.

It takes practice for several reasons. Firstly because of the combination of the circle with the feather, it is a bit unusual. Secondly because you may find it challenging the stitch the pattern in mirror image on your way back. And thirdly, your machine might protest when going from right to left.

Give yourself some guidelines to stitch between! This will help your brain to stay on its task.

Watch me stitch out this pattern on YouTube.

Stitch a circle at the end of an arc and let the movement flow into a feather-shape. The feathers are the crashing and rolling waves at the beach. The circles are the bubbles and the sea foam.

If your machine is making it difficult for you to move from right to left (like on a longarm), try turning your fabric and stitch the pattern vertically. From top to bottom and from the bottom back up.

And try not to make it perfect, let your pattern flow!

I have a trip planned to a sunny beach in a couple of months. Looking forward to it!

Hugs

Esther

6 thoughts on “Free Motion Quilting – Bubble Wave

  1. Pingback: FMQ Feather Flower | ipatchandquilt

Leave a comment