Free Motion Quilting – Wishbone

Mix lower angles and smaller teardrops and you have a totally different look for your wishbone.

For me, the wider I space the teardrops apart, the more difficult it is to maintain an equal spacing. I prefer steeper angles and bigger teardrops.

The design in this sample is pretty dense for that reason. A Wishbone design is often applied in a border or sashing and I like how it frames a block. If a sashing is not high, like just 2″ high, I make the angles less steep so I can still have big teardrops.

If you are having trouble with this design, try keeping the diagonal lines more straight instead of curvy. As straight as you can make them before you curve into the teardrops. I always ‘fall off the wagon’ when I do more wiggly lines.

Watch the video on YouTube where I stitch out the green sample.

It is surprising to see that when the tread color matches the fabric more (here you see the back of the sample) the diamonds between the teardrops stand out more. Compared to the green front of the sample where the thread stand out more, you see the teardrops better.

Have you noticed this too?

Hugs

Esther

3 thoughts on “Free Motion Quilting – Wishbone

  1. YES! My go to color is usually white – but when I use a color, I FINALLY taught myself to make a sample – even with my color lamp – the color of the thread mysteriously changes! Maybe it’s the “shadows” from the ditches? Either way, they are spectacular designs! Thanks

  2. Do the shapes really stand out more or is it the lighting? I can’t be sure. I do love the vibrant green of the sample, one of my favourite colours, and I also prefer the straighter version, it feels more ‘elegant’.

Leave a comment