Free Motion Quilting – Evening Star

Did you see the Northern Lights two weeks ago?

I have to report there was nothing to see where I live, because dawn came too early for us. There was just too much light in the sky to be able to see the pretty colors. I live in a pretty densely populated area anyway, so even looking at the regular night’s sky to see the stars is a bit of a challenge. I can see some constellations with very bright stars, but that is about it.

I am making up for missing out on all the celestial events of this year (we even did’t get to see the eclipse) by filling a quilted sky with Evening Stars!

This grid-based Evening Star design resembles a Sashiko pattern, but it can be stitched out as freemotion or as rulerwork. The design consists of two horizontal passes to complete the design. Each star is made up of a series of straight lines referencing points on the grid. I used a 1 square inch grid for the stars, making the completed star 2”x2”. A secondary design can be identified as another star is formed from four bigger diamonds.

I have shared this design once before in 2017 when I did a whole series of grid designs. For some of these grid designs I also created tutorials in drawing format, like I did for Evening Star. Here is that drawing again.

I know most of you also love a tutorial in video format. Here is the link to the YouTube video and here is a link to the animation video. The design is stitched out in two horizontal rows, which you can do from left to right and vice versa.

The design creates great texture and works wonderfully on zipper pouches and bags. The pattern would look lovely too on a quilt about the universe, astronomy or astrology.

Give it a try!

Hugs

Esther

3 thoughts on “Free Motion Quilting – Evening Star

  1. I’ll give it a try. It’s an attractive design. Thx for sharing all these FMQ designs.
    Laura in Utah.

Leave a comment