Murphy’s Thursday

Hi there!

For those of you hopping over from Needle and Thread Thursday: here is what the green diamond panel turned into! Thank you Kelly for showcasing the panel on today’s blog post for the Needle and Thread Thursday Linky party!!!

HELP! It is one of those days…. Murphy’s Law in full action!

FMQ through too many layers of fabric –> needle broke –> needle bent –> needle destroyed needle plate –> no more sew!

(OK, from now on I will for sure open up the seams in my patchwork instead of pressing them to the side!)

The machine can be repared but the replacement part will arrive on Tuesday, so I will have to wait a week (or more?) for it to be fixed

EEKS!

WHAT TO DO?

Use grandma’s machine! Yeah!!! I set up the machine for FMQ with my “invention” of the flexible cookie sheet for extra slide.

( This is not a paper cookie sheet but one of those teflon of silicon sheets. Yeah I do own a regular slider, but I wanted to try this out again. For those interested; the cookie sheet is not as slippery as the slider (1o out of 10), but it comes close (like 7 out of 10).Β  If you are on a budget, a cookie sheet might be an (temporary) substitute for a real slider. I bought this large one for about 9 euro’s at an high end cook shop. I have seen cookie sheets like this on a roll on the internet. That might be even better than the one I got as you can cut the sheet to fit your table. I carefully punched a little hole in it for the needle and used painters tape to secure it to the table. It is not perfect as the quilt will pull the tape off. Find out what tape will work best for you!)

Off we go then..

Well, that’s a NO!

The foot pedal got very hot after an half hour of sewing. Conclusion: the transformer (?) inside of the pedal is ready to explode! Better get my foot off it, right?

By the way: my BIL, who owns a sewing machine shop, told me (in my second “please help me phone call”) that you should always wear shoes when using a metal foot pedal. I didn’t know that. Glad that I stopped sewing when I did. I do like my foot! πŸ˜‰

I had hoped to finish the two pillows tonight, but that will have to wait till tomorrow evening. My BIL has a replacement foot pedal for me to use, thankfully! It is not a complete Murphy’s Law Day!!! πŸ™‚

I still want to show you how far I had gotten with the FMQ of the second pillow “before disaster struck”.

Here is what the border looks like of the “log cabin” baby quilt.

How about the floral fabric as an extra border? I am not sure. It is kind of busy.

SOOOOOOO…..No sewing machines tonight, so maybe I will work on these for an hour…

… and do the dishes afterwards! LOL!!! (without breaking anything while doing it!)

Esther

I am linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation!

13 thoughts on “Murphy’s Thursday

  1. Oh my goodness, you are not having any sewing luck! I love your old Pfaff tho, and it’s nice to have a back-up machine.
    I really like your pillow project too. I LOVE making quilted pillows.

  2. I love the finished green diamond pillow Esther, and that is such a huge bummer on the machine! I think I would just be lost! Hope it gets fixed soon and without any more problems!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly

  3. The flower print is a bit busy but I really like it!! You have really had a time of it…ugh! I always sew barefoot! Hmmmm, may rethink that….maybe! I use packing tape to secure my Supreme Slider (at the corners) and it holds quite well. I never thought of the baking sheets!! Your quilting is so very nice!! Great post with lots of info!! Hugs…..

  4. Looks like you will be hand sewing this week. I love your hexies and would vote yes on adding the floral. Your quilting, as always, is beautiful!

  5. Pillow came out great! My machine broke last year and thats how I got my new machine:) Hard to go machine-less! The hexagons look like a nice hand project. I love the colors.

  6. Hello Esther:

    Lots of bad luck on your equipment. Also did not know about wearing shoes! On the purple pillow .. I do like the floral .. if softens the angular design.
    Annie

  7. Pingback: URL

  8. Hi Esther! Murphie’s Law works here too! Your projects are beautiful and you have finished pillow – not like me. x Teje

  9. Pingback: W.I.P’s on Wednesday | ipatch

  10. Pingback: Poof, there’s poof!!! | ipatch

Leave a Reply

